ATLANTA -- Experience has proven to be the best teacher, as four upperclassmen have been schooling the competition to become named finalists for the 2012 Naismith Trophy for Women’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Thursday. Senior Nneka Ogwumike (Stanford), along with juniors Elena Delle Donne (Delaware), Skylar Diggins (Notre Dame) and Brittney Griner (Baylor), will compete for the right to call themselves the best player in women’s college basketball.

The finalists were voted on by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s National Voting Academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The academy based its criteria on player performances this season. The vote was tabulated and certified by the accounting firm of Habif, Arogeti & Wynne, LLP. HA&W is the largest independent accounting firm in Georgia and one of the top 50 firms in the United States. The winner will be announced at the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) awards banquet on April 2 in Denver.

“These four finalists have shown that experience can be just as valuable a skill as passing or shooting,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “All of the finalists have enjoyed remarkable individual and team success and we wish them the best of luck the rest of the season.”

Beginning March 19, fans will be able to text their votes for the player of their choice by texting VOTE to 34763. Fans will be eligible to cast their vote for the winner until 11:59 p.m. ET on March 31.

“On behalf of AT&T, I want to congratulate these talented four women finalists, said Jamie Kerr, director, AT&T corporate sponsorships. “They have proved that hard work and diligence lead to success. Although they are all qualified to be the Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year, we encourage fans to vote for who they believe is the best of the best.”