basketball-women-d2 flag | March 10, 2014

DII women's basketball championship field announced

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Committee on Sunday announced the field of 64 teams for the 2014 NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Championship.

Twenty-two conferences have been awarded an automatic qualification. The committee selected the remaining 42 at-large teams.

All eight teams within the region will travel to one site for first-round, semifinal and final competition at the regional level. First-round games will be played March 14, semifinal games March 15 and the regional championship will be played March 17. The regional champions will advance to the NCAA Women’s Elite Eight March 25, 26 and 28 at Erie Insurance Arena in Erie, Pa. Gannon will host the Elite Eight.

Conferences that received automatic qualification, and the institutions representing them, are as follows:

California Collegiate Athletic Association -- Cal State Dominguez Hills

Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference -- Bloomfield

Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association -- Shaw

Conference Carolinas -- Limestone

East Coast Conference -- District of Columbia

Great American Conference -- Southwestern Oklahoma State

Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Northern Michigan

Great Lakes Valley Conference -- Truman

Great Northwest Athletic Conference -- Western Washington

Gulf South Conference -- West Florida

Heartland Conference -- St. Edward’s

Lone Star Conference -- West Texas A&M

Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association -- Emporia State

Northeast-10 Conference -- Bentley

Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference -- Concordia-St. Paul

Pacific West Conference -- Academy of Art

Peach Belt Conference -- Columbus State

Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference -- Edinboro

Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference -- Colorado Mesa

South Atlantic Conference -- Wingate

Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Benedict

Sunshine State Conference -- Nova Southeastern

Those institutions receiving at-large berths are, in alphabetical order:



Albany State (Ga.)



Belmont Abbey


Cal Poly Pomona

Cal State Chico

Central Missouri

Charleston (W. Va.)

Clayton State

Colorado State-Pueblo

Delta State




Glenville State




LIU Post

Midwestern State

Missouri-St. Louis

Montana State Billings

New Haven

Northern Georgia

Northern State

Pittsburg State



Saint Leo

St. Mary’s (Texas)

Simon Fraser


Tarleton State


Texas A&M International

Virginia State

Wayne State (Mich.)

Wayne State (Neb.)

West Liberty

For more information about the NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Championship log on to

Interactive Bracket

Printable Bracket

Selection Show

13 of the best moments from Sabrina Ionescu’s career, so far

Ionescu will enter her senior season with 1,984 points, 792 assists and 756 rebounds, setting her up for a chance to become the first player in NCAA women's basketball history to reach 2,000+ career points, 1,000+ career assists and 1,000+ career rebounds.

The top returning 3-point shooters in women’s college basketball, by the numbers

Each team is trying to find their own Steph Curry or Allie Quigley, and a few of those types of players -- who can change the game with three-pointers -- exist in women’s college basketball.

Can Baylor defend its women’s basketball national championship? Let’s break down the Lady Bears’ schedule.

Entering the 2019-20 season — with three of five starters and a host of other talented players returning — the question is, can Baylor defend its title and repeat as champs?

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners