basketball-women-d2 flag

Delta State Athletics | November 12, 2014

Margaret Wade honored with statue dedication

  Margaret Wade brought women's basketball into the spotlight on more than just the college level.

CLEVELAND,  Miss. -- Margaret Wade’s impact on women’s collegiate athletics and the game of basketball is immeasurable. On at 2 p.m. CT Friday, Delta State and the Department of Athletics will dedicate a statue in honor of Wade’s indelible legacy.

“No single individual has had a larger impact on women’s athletics, especially in Mississippi, than coach Margaret Wade,” said Ronnie Mayers, director of athletics. “Her legacy lives on today through the countless young women who have the opportunity to participate and enjoy competitive sports.”

The dedication ceremony will take place at the West Plaza of Kent Wyatt Hall. Delta State President William N. LaForge will host the event, which features former presidents Dr. Kent Wyatt and Dr. Aubrey Lucas, and former Ole Miss and WNBA head coach Van Chancellor. A reception will follow the ceremony in the Leroy Morganti Atrium of Kent Wyatt Hall.

1973-74 16-2
1974-75 28-0 *
1975-76 33-1 *
1976-77 32-3*
1977-78 27-5
1978-79 21-12
Totals 157-23
* -- AIAW national champions
1975 -- Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame
1977 -- National Coach of the Year
1986 -- Naismith National Basketball Hall of Fame
Wade served as head coach of the Lady Statesmen from 1973-79, leading Delta State to three consecutive AIAW National Championships from 1974-75 through 1976-77. During that time, Wade amassed a remarkable 157-23 record and helped pave the way for future female head coaches like Pat Summitt to excel in the sport they love.

“Her first four years back in coaching have been called one of the most amazing accomplishments in sports history,” said Langston Rogers, former Delta State and Ole Miss sports information director.

During those four years, Delta State went from having no team at all to Wade leading the Lady Statesmen to a 109-6 record and three titles.

Wade received numerous awards during her career, including AIAW National Coach of the Year; Kellogg’s Mississippi Coach of the Year; and following her retirement, the title of “Mother of Modern Collegiate Basketball” was bestowed her by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

In addition to being the most recognizable name in women’s college basketball in Mississippi, the WBCA named its player of the year award after the Mississippi Delta legend. The “Lily Margaret Wade Trophy” is annually awarded to the nation’s top women’s basketball player in the NCAA. In 1978, Wade awarded the first-ever trophy to Montclair State guard Carol Blazejowski.

In 1986, the Naismith National Basketball Hall of Fame made Wade the first female inductee and first female head coach to be enshrined into the hall. She is also a member of the Delta State University Sports Hall of Fame, Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame.

Season Player School Position
1977-78 Carol Blazejowski Montclair State F
1978-79 Nancy Lieberman Old Dominion G
1979-80 Nancy Lieberman Old Dominion G
1980-81 Lynette Woodard Kansas G
1981-82 Pam Kelly Louisiana Tech C
1982-83 LaTaunya Pollard Long Beach State G
1983-84 Janice Lawrence Braxton Louisiana Tech F
1984-85 Cheryl Miller USC F
1985-86 Kamie Ethridge Texas G
1986-87 Shelly Pennefather Villanova F
1987-88 Teresa Weatherspoon Louisiana Tech G
1988-89 Clarissa Davis Texas F
1989-90 Jennifer Azzi Stanford G
1990-91 Daedra Charles Tennessee C
1991-92 Susan Robinson Penn State F
1992-93 Karen Jennings Nebraska F
1993-94 Carol Ann Shudlick Minnesota F
1994-95 Rebecca Lobo Connecticut C
1995-96 Jennifer Rizzotti Connecticut G
1996-97 DeLisha Milton Florida F
1997-98 Ticha Penicheiro Old Dominion G
1998-99 Stephanie White Purdue G
1999-00 Edwina Brown Texas G
2000-01 Jackie Stiles Southwest Missouri State G
2001-02 Sue Bird Connecticut G
2002-03 Diana Taurasi Connecticut F
2003-04 Alana Beard Duke G
2004-05 Seimone Augustus LSU G
2005-06 Seimone Augustus LSU G
2006-07 Candace Parker Tennessee C
2007-08 Candice Wiggins Stanford G
2008-09 Maya Moore Connecticut F
2009-10 Maya Moore Connecticut F
2010-11 Maya Moore Connecticut F
2011-12 Brittney Griner Baylor C
2012-13 Brittney Griner Baylor C
2013-14 Odyssey Sims Baylor G

DII women's basketball programs with the most NCAA DII national championships

Here's a look at the programs that have won multiple DII women's basketball championships.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners