basketball-women-d3 flag | February 29, 2016

Division III Women's Basketball Championship Field Announced

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Women’s Basketball Committee announced today the field of 64 teams for the 2016 championship.

Forty-four conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for the 2016 championship. The final 20 berths were reserved for Pool C, which includes institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion, and any Pool B teams. Based on sponsorship numbers for 2015-16, there were no Pool B berths for this year’s championship.

Sixteen first/second-round sites will be conducted March 4-5. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites March 11-12. Winners of the four sectional sites will advance to the national semifinals March 19. All games, except the semifinals and final, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The semifinals will be conducted at the Capital Center Performance Arena on the campus of Capital University in Columbus, Ohio.

BRACKET: Printable | Interactive

The finals will be part of a larger 35th anniversary NCAA women’s basketball championship celebration taking place at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis the first week in April. Championship week will culminate with five championship basketball games and three national titles decided within a 48-hour period at Bankers Life Fieldhouse. It will be the first time in the history of NCAA women’s basketball that all three divisional championships will be decided in the same city and venue. The Division I national semifinals will be played Sunday, April 3 at 6 and 8:30 p.m. EST. The Division II and III national championship games will be played on Monday, April 4 at 3 p.m. and 6 p.m., respectively, while the Division I national championship game will be played on Tuesday, April 5 at 8:30 p.m. Tickets for all games are now on sale at

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification (44):

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference:   La Roche (24-3)

American Southwest Conference:  Texas-Tyler (27-1)

Capital Athletic Conference: Mary Washington (24-4)

Centennial Conference: Muhlenberg (24-2)

City University of New York Athletic Conference: Lehman (20-7)

College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin: Wheaton (Ill.) (22-5)

Colonial State Athletic Conference: Cabrini (19-9)

Commonwealth Coast Conference: Univ. of New England (25-3)

Empire 8 Conference: Stevens Institute of Technology (21-6)

Great Northeast Conference: Saint Joseph's (Maine) (23-5)

Great South Athletic Conference: UC Santa Cruz (15-11)

Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference: Bluffton (25-2)

Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Loras (19-8)

Landmark Conference: Scranton (27-0)

Liberty League: Clarkson (22-5)

Little East Conference: Eastern Connecticut State (22-6)

Massachusetts State Conference: Westfield State (20-7)

Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Hope (26-1)

Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth: Albright (25-2)

Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom: Fairleigh Dickinson-Florham (21-6)

Midwest Conference: St. Norbert (21-4)

Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: St. Thomas (Minn.) (24-3)

New England Collegiate Conference: Regis (Mass.) (24-3)

New England Small College Athletic Conference: Amherst (26-1)

New England Women’s & Men’s Athletic Conference: WPI (24-4)

New Jersey Athletic Conference: Montclair State (21-6)

North Atlantic Conference: Husson (21-6)

North Coast Athletic Conference: DePauw (22-6)

North Eastern Athletic Conference: SUNY Polytechnic Institute (23-5)

Northern Athletics Conference: Wisconsin Lutheran (20-7)

Northwest Conference: George Fox (27-0)

Ohio Athletic Conference: Mount Union (20-7)

Old Dominion Athletic Conference: Lynchburg (24-4)

Presidents’ Athletic Conference: Thomas More (27-0)

Skyline Conference: Old Westbury (23-5)

Southern Athletic Association: Birmingham-Southern (24-3)

Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (22-5)

Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference: Trinity (Tex.) (22-5)

St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Greenville (20-7)

State University of New York Athletic Conference : SUNY New Paltz (21-6)

University Athletic Association: Washington U. in St. Louis (20-5)

Upper Midwest Conference: Wisconsin-Superior (24-3)

USA South Athletic Conference: Maryville (Tennessee) (24-3)

Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Wisconsin-Oshkosh (22-5)

Pool B Berths (0):

Pool C Berths (20):

Bowdoin (20-6)

Carnegie Mellon (19-6)

Christopher Newport (22-4)

Denison (23-4)

Guilford (21-5)

Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island) (24-3)

Marymount (Virginia) (22-5)

Moravian (19-7)

New York University (18-7)

Ohio Northern (22-4)

Rochester (New York) (20-5)

Rowan (22-5)

St. John Fisher (22-4)

Stockton (21-6)

SUNY Geneseo (20-7)

Tufts (23-3)

Wartburg (19-7)

Wisconsin-River Falls (22-5)

Wisconsin-Stevens Point (20-7)

Wisconsin-Whitewater (19-7)

Team USA women's basketball sets exhibition tour against Tennessee, Duke

As part of Team USA women's basketball's tune-up for the 2024 Olympics, the squad will play a series of exhibition matches against Duke and Tennessee on Nov. 5 and Nov. 12.

ESPN networks to televise inaugural Women’s Basketball Invitation Tournament

The NCAA announced the tournament format, broadcast partner, selection committee and criteria for the newly created 32-team Women’s Basketball Invitation Tournament that will be played for the first time in 2024.

2023 WNBA Playoffs rosters: Colleges of every player

With the WNBA Playoffs here, let's take a look at where the players went to college.