basketball-women-d2 flag | March 7, 2016

2016 Division II Women's Basketball Championship field announced

DII Women's Basketball: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS--The NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Committee announced today the field of 64 teams that will compete in the 2016 NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Championship.

Twenty-four conferences have been awarded automatic qualification. The remaining 40 teams were selected at large by the committee.

Seven of the regional tournaments, consisting of eight teams each, will be conducted March 11, 12 and 14 at regional sites. The South Central regional will be conducted March 10, 11 and 13. The eight regional champions will advance to the quarterfinals in conjunction with the 2016 NCAA Division II Women’s Elite Eight at the Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

MORE: Full bracket

The finals will be part of a larger 35th anniversary NCAA women’s basketball championship celebration taking place at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis the first week in April.  Championship week will culminate with five championship basketball games and three national titles decided within a 48-hour period at Bankers Life Fieldhouse.  It will be the first time in the history of NCAA women’s basketball that all three divisional championships will be decided in the same city and venue. The Division I national semifinals will be played Sunday, April 3 at 6 and 8:30 p.m. EST. The Division II and III national championship games will be played on Monday, April 4 at 3 p.m. and 6 p.m., respectively, while the Division I national championship game will be played on Tuesday, April 5 at 8:30 p.m. Tickets for all games are now on sale at

Conferences that received automatic qualification are as follows:

California Collegiate Athletic Association Cal State East Bay
Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference Philadelphia U.
Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association Virginia Union
Conference Carolinas Limestone
East Coast Conference Queens (New York)
Great American Conference Arkansas Tech
Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Ashland
Great Lakes Valley Conference Bellarmine
Great Midwest Athletic Conference Ursuline
Great Northwest Athletic Conference Alaska Anchorage
Gulf South Conference Delta State
Heartland Conference Lubbock Christian
Lone Star Conference Angelo State
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association Emporia State
Mountain East Conference Wheeling Jesuit
Northeast-10 Conference Bentley
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Sioux Falls
Pacific West Conference Azusa Pacific
Peach Belt Conference Lander
Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference California (Pennsylvania)
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Colorado State-Pueblo
South Atlantic Conference Wingate
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Benedict
Sunshine State Conference Tampa

Those institutions receiving at-large berths are, in alphabetical order, as follows:

Academy of Art 
American International
Anderson (South Carolina) 
Augusta University
Black Hills State
Cal State Dominguez Hills
California Baptist
Clayton State
Colorado School of Mines
Colorado-Colorado Springs
Columbus State
Florida Southern
Florida Tech 
Fort Hays State
Francis Marion 
Grand Valley State
Holy Family
Indiana (Pennsylvania)
Kentucky State
Missouri Western State
Montana State Billings
New York Institute of Technology
Northern State
Nova Southeastern
Pittsburg State
Saginaw Valley State
Saint Anselm 
Texas Woman's University
UC San Diego
Union (Tennessee) 
West Chester 
West Liberty 
West Texas A&M 
Winona State


Atlantic Region

Central Region

East Region

Midwest Region


South Central Region

South Region

Southeast Region

West Region





South Carolina, Stanford, Ohio State lead the women's Power 10 college basketball rankings

These are the top 10 teams in women's college basketball for Week 5, ranked by Autumn Johnson.

Notre Dame rides big first half, defense to upset UConn women's basketball

No. 7 Notre Dame completed the upset of No. 3 UConn with a 74-60 win in the Jimmy V Women's Classic after a big first half and defensive performance.

Indiana men's and women's basketball in a reheating hotbed with wins over North Carolina

It may have been a while since Indiana stood with college basketball's bluest bloods, but with wins over North Carolina for the men's and women's programs, this hotbed continues to reheat.