basketball-women-d3 flag | March 1, 2017

DIII women's basketball champ field announced

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Women’s Basketball Committee announced today the field of 64 teams for the 2017 championship.

Forty-three conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for the 2017 championship. There is one berth reserved for Pool B and the final 20 berths are reserved for Pool C, which includes institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any Pool B teams.

Interactive Bracket Printable Bracket

Sixteen first/second-round sites will be conducted March 3-4. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites March 10-11. Winners of the four sectional sites will advance to the national semifinals and final March 17-18. All games, except the semifinals/final, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The semifinals/final will be conducted at Van Noord Arena on the campus of Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification (43):

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference

La Roche College (23-4)

American Southwest Conference

University of Texas at Dallas (25-3)

Capital Athletic Conference

Christopher Newport University (25-2)

Centennial Conference

Muhlenberg College (20-8)

City University of New York Athletic Conference

College of Staten Island (22-6)

College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin

Wheaton College (Illinois) (23-4)

Colonial States Athletic Conference

Gwynedd Mercy University (18-10)

Commonwealth Coast Conference

University of New England (23-5)

Empire 8 Conference

Ithaca College (24-3)

Great Northeast Conference

Saint Joseph’s College (Maine)  (24-4)

Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (24-3)

Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Wartburg College (25-2)

Landmark Conference

University of Scranton (24-3)

Liberty League

Rochester Institute of Technology (19-8)

Little East Conference

Keene State College (21-7)

Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference

Westfield State University (19-8)

Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association

Trine University (24-2)

Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth

Messiah College (25-2)

Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom

Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham (24-3)

Midwest Conference

St. Norbert College (20-5) 

Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

University of St. Thomas (Minnesota) (27-0)

New England Collegiate Conference

Regis College (Massachusetts) (22-6)

New England Small College Athletic Conference

Amherst College (27-0)

New England Women’s & Men’s Athletic Conference

Babson College (22-5)

New Jersey Athletic Conference

Montclair State University (25-2) 

North Atlantic Conference

Husson University (22-4)

North Coast Athletic Conference

DePauw University (26-2)

North Eastern Athletic Conference

State University of New York Polytechnic University  (25-2)

Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference

Lakeland University (20-7)

Northwest Conference

Whitman College (23-4)

Ohio Athletic Conference

Ohio Northern University (27-0)

Old Dominion Athletic Conference

Guilford College (24-3)

Presidents’ Athletic Conference

Thomas More College (27-0) 

Skyline Conference

The Sage Colleges (20-8)

Southern Athletic Association

Hendrix College (18-10)

Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd-Scripps Colleges (19-8) 

Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference

Trinity University (Texas) (26-1)

St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Eureka College (20-7)

State University of New York Athletic Conference

State University of New York at New Paltz (18-8)

University Athletic Association

Washington University in St. Louis (23-2)

Upper Midwest Athletic Conference

University of Wisconsin-Superior (23-4)

USA South Athletic Conference

Piedmont College (21-7)

Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (21-5)

Pool B Berth (1):

University of California, Santa Cruz (13-10)

Pool C Berths (20):

Albright College (22-5)

Bowdoin College (21-4)

Calvin College (22-5)

Catholic University (23-4)

University of Chicago (18-7)

DeSales University (20-7)

Eastern Connecticut State University (20-8)

George Fox University (21-5)

Gustavus Adolphus College (25-2)

Hope College (22-4)

Illinois Wesleyan University (18-9)

Lynchburg College (22-6)

Marymount University (Virginia) (22-5)

University of Mary Washington (23-4)

University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth (22-5)

State University of New York at Geneseo (26-1)

University of Puget Sound (25-2)

University of Rochester (17-8)

Tufts University (25-2)

University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh (24-2)

The selection announcement and the full bracket are posted at


11 college sports mega-rivalries that may have slipped under your radar

Rivalries in college sports often bring out exciting, intense and (sometimes) heartbreaking moments in sports history. Here's a look at 11 you may not know, but definitely should.

NCAA women's basketball: Oregon earns Team of the Week honors after defeating Team USA

A week after being ranked No. 1 in The Associated Press’ poll for the first time in school history and on a football Saturday in early November, Oregon made national headlines by defeating Team USA, 93-86 in a historic upset in front of a sold out home crowd for the exhibition game. 

Sabrina Ionescu tracker: Where we left off with the Oregon star, what to expect in 2019-20

All season long, we’ll be cataloging Ionescu’s best moments on this here “Sabrina Tracker.” We’ll keep you updated with the Oregon star's stats, her highlights, her records and her viral moments.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners