basketball-women-d1 flag | March 13, 2017

Five finalists announced for 2017 Lieberman Award

  The winner of the 2017 Nancy Lieberman Award will be announced during the Women's Final Four in Dallas.

SPRINGFIELD, MASS. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the five finalists for the 2017 Nancy Lieberman Award on Monday. Named after the Hall of Famer, three-time All- American and two-time National Champion at Old Dominion University, the annual honor now in its eighteenth year recognizes the top point guards in Division I women’s college basketball.

To be considered for this prestigious award, candidates must exhibit the floor leadership, play- making and ball-handling skills of the award’s namesake. A national committee of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers narrowed the original award watch list from 10 to five.

2017 Nancy Lieberman Award Candidates

Player School
Lexie Brown Duke
Kelsey Mitchell Ohio State
Alexis Peterson Syracuse
Kelsey Plum Washington
Lindsay Allen Notre Dame

“I am very honored to have my name associated with this award and the best point guards in college basketball,” Lieberman said. “Over the years, we have honored many deserving floor generals and I’m anxious to see who comes out on top this season!”

“The five young women selected as finalists for the Lieberman Award are remarkable student- athletes who should be very proud of all they have accomplished,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “As we head into postseason play, we expect to see these players proving why they have been selected and leading their teams toward the goal of a national championship.”

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut (2015-16), Odyssey Sims, Baylor (2014), Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame (2012-13), Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga (2011), Andrea Riley, Oklahoma State (2010), Renee Montgomery, Connecticut (2009), Kristi Toliver, Maryland (2008), Lindsey Harding, Duke (2007), Ivory Latta, North Carolina (2006), Temeka Johnson, LSU (2005), Diana Taurasi, Connecticut (2003-04), and Sue Bird, Connecticut (2000-02).

The 2017 Lieberman Award winner will be announced during the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association keynote session in Dallas, Texas, at the Women’s Final Four. For more information on the 2017 Nancy Lieberman Award, log onto

About Nancy Lieberman: Nancy "Lady Magic" Lieberman is a true pioneer in women's sports. Her extensive resume includes Assistant Coach of the NBA's Sacramento Kings, head coach of the Texas Legends the D-League affiliate of the Dallas Mavericks, WNBA player and coach, general manager, sports broadcaster for ABC, NBC, ESPN, and FOX Sports Southwest, motivational speaker, and author. In addition, Nancy Lieberman is a Basketball Hall of Famer, two-time Olympian, three-time All American, two-time collegiate national champion and a two-time National Player of the Year at Old Dominion University. She is also the founder of Nancy Lieberman Charities and Basketball Camps. For more information, visit

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame: Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.


Team USA women's basketball sets exhibition tour against Tennessee, Duke

As part of Team USA women's basketball's tune-up for the 2024 Olympics, the squad will play a series of exhibition matches against Duke and Tennessee on Nov. 5 and Nov. 12.

ESPN networks to televise inaugural Women’s Basketball Invitation Tournament

The NCAA announced the tournament format, broadcast partner, selection committee and criteria for the newly created 32-team Women’s Basketball Invitation Tournament that will be played for the first time in 2024.

2023 WNBA Playoffs rosters: Colleges of every player

With the WNBA Playoffs here, let's take a look at where the players went to college.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners