basketball-women-d1 flag

WBCA | April 1, 2017

Wade Trophy winner Kelsey Plum headlines the 2017 WBCA DI Coaches’ All-American team

DALLAS – Kelsey Plum of the University of Washington is the winner of the 2017 Wade Trophy and headlines the 2017 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced Saturday.

The prestigious Wade Trophy, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball," is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Player of the Year by the WBCA.

RELATED: Washington's Kelsey Plum named 2017 Naismith Trophy winner

Plum concluded a historic career as the NCAA’s all-time leading scorer with 3,527 career points. She scored 1,109 points this season alone, also an NCAA single-season record. Both performances eclipsed records held by Missouri State standout Jackie Stiles that had stood for 16 years. Plum, a 5-foot-8 guard from Poway, California, also set the NCAA career free throw record, which had stood for 33 years, with 912.

In her final game – a 75-64 loss to Mississippi State in the NCAA tournament Sweet 16 last Friday in Oklahoma City – Plum also broke the 33-year-old NCAA career free throw record. She has 912 in her career.

"On behalf of the WBCA, I am honored to present women’s basketball’s highest honor, the Wade Trophy, to Kelsey Plum," said WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew. "Kelsey had a historic season and elevated the game to an exciting new level. Each contest showcased her remarkable skill and ability to produce results while bettering her teammates, representing Washington with class, captivating fans, and influencing the next generation of student-athletes.”

The Wade Trophy — now in its 40th year — is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. First awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America, the The Wade Trophy has been presented to the WBCA NCAA Division I National Player of the Year since 2001.

Here are the 2017 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-Americans:

Player School Year Position
Kalani Brown Baylor Sophomore Center
Napheesa Collier Connecticut Sophomore Forward
Kelsey Mitchell Ohio State Junior Guard
Chantel Osahor Washington Senior Forward
Alexis Peterson Syracuse Senior Guard
Kelsey Plum Washington Senior Guard
Katie Lou Samuelson Connecticut Sophomore Guard
Brianna Turner Notre Dame Junior Forward
Gabby Williams Connecticut Junior Forward
A'ja Wilson South Carolina Junior Forward

Here are the student-athletes who received 2017 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America honorable mention:

Name Institution Year Position
Evelyn Akhator Kentucky Senior Forward
Lindsay Allen Notre Dame Senior Guard
Kristine Anigwe California Sophomore Forward, Center
Ariel Atkins Texas Junior Guard
Monique Billings UCLA Junior Forward
Allazia Blockton Marquette Sophomore Guard
Lexie Brown Duke Junior Guard
Sophie Brunner Arizona State Senior Forward
Tyra Buss Indiana Junior Guard
Jordin Canada UCLA Junior Guard
Alaina Coates South Carolina Senior Center
Nia Coffey Northwestern Senior Forward
Sophie Cunningham Missouri Sophomore Guard
Nina Davis Baylor Senior Forward
Diamond DeShields Tennessee Senior Guard
Asia Durr Louisville Sophomore Guard
Makayla Epps Kentucky Senior Guard
Feyonda Fitzgerald Temple Senior Guard
Katelynn Flaherty Michigan Junior Guard
Rebecca Greenwell Duke Junior Guard
Myisha Hines-Allen Louisville Junior Forward
Tori Jankoska Michigan State Senior Guard
Jessica January DePaul Senior Guard
Brionna Jones Maryland Grad Student Center
Kitija Laksa South Florida Sophomore Forward
Breanna Lewis Kansas State Senior Center
Tynice Martin West Virginia Sophomore Guard
Erica McCall Stanford Senior Forward
Brooke McCarty Texas Junior Guard
Arike Ogunbowale Notre Dame Sophomore Guard
Teniya Page Penn State Sophomore Guard
Leticia Romero Florida State Senior Guard
Mercedes Russell Tennessee Senior Center
Karlie Samuelson Stanford Senior Guard
Brooke Schulte DePaul Senior Guard
Brittney Sykes Syracuse Grad Student Guard
Shakayla Thomas Florida State Junior Forward
Victoria Vivians Mississippi State Junior Guard
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough Maryland Senior Guard
Lizzy Wendell Drake Senior Forward
Sydney Wiese Oregon State Senior Guard
Ronni Williams Florida Senior Forward

Aliyah Boston's double-double headlines this week's Starting Five in women's basketball

Aliyah Boston collected her 16th straight double-double against a ranked opponent with No. 1 South Carolina's huge 76-71 overtime win over No. 2 Stanford.

UConn earns women's basketball Team of the Week honors after top-10 wins

UConn improved to 3-0 on the season and moved up two spots in the latest Associated Press top-25 poll to No. 3 overall after beating then-No. 3 Texas and 10th-ranked NC State last week.

2023 March Madness: Women's NCAA tournament schedule, dates, times

This is the schedule for women's March Madness in 2023, which begins with selections on Sunday, March 12, and ends with the national championship game in Dallas on April 2.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners