basketball-women-d3 flag | February 26, 2018

DIII women's basketball tournament field

DIII Women's Basketball | Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Women’s Basketball Committee announced on Monday the field of 64 teams for the 2018 championship.

Forty-three conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for the 2018 championship.  There is one berth reserved for Pool B and the final 20 berths are reserved for Pool C, which includes institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any Pool B teams.

Sixteen first/second-round sites will be conducted March 2-3.  Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites March 9-10.  Winners of the four sectional sites will advance to the national semifinals and final March 16-17.  All games, except the semifinals/final, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions.  The semifinals/final will be conducted at Mayo Civic Center in Rochester, Minnesota, hosted by Saint. Mary’s University of Minnesota.

Interactive Bracket Printable Bracket

Forty-three conference champions will receive an automatic bid into the 64-team field, leaving 21 teams remaining. One team will be selected from a group of ten teams that are either independent or members of non-automatic qualifying conferences (Pool B). The other 20 teams come from Pool C, and make up the at-large bids. 

The three week tournament kicks off March 2 and 3, when 16 four-team sites host the first and second round. Eight sectional semifinals continue on March 9, followed by four sectional finals on March 10. The national semifinals and final will be played the following weekend March 16 and 17 at the Mayo Civic Center in Rochester, Minn.

Reigning champion Amherst, who is 25-0 and hasn't lost since March 19, 2016, enters its season finale the No. 1 team in DIII. The Mammouths look to accomplish what Thomas More did in 2015 and 2016 with back-to-back, 33-0 national championship runs. 

MORE: Tournament history

Automatic Qualifiers
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Hilbert (21-6)
American Southwest Conference East Texas Baptist (22-6)
Capital Athletic Conference Marymount (Virginia) (24-3)
Centennial Conference Gettysburg (25-2)
City University of New York Athletic Conference Brooklyn (24-3)
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Illinois Wesleyan (24-3)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Cabrini (25-2)
Commonwealth Coast Conference University of New England (23-5)
Empire 8 Conference Stevens Institute of Technology (15-12)
Great Northeast Conference Saint Joseph’s (Maine) (27-1)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Rose-Hulman (24-3)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wartburg (27-0)
Landmark Conference Scranton (26-1)
Liberty League Skidmore (18-9)
Little East Conference Massachusetts Boston (25-3)
Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Westfield State (19-7)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hope (26-1)
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Messiah (25-2)
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Fairleigh Dickinson-Florham (21-6)
Midwest Conference Cornell College (20-5)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference St. Thomas (Minnesota) (25-2)
New England Collegiate Conference Becker (18-10)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Amherst (27-0)
New England Women’s & Men’s Athletic Conference MIT (18-9)
New Jersey Athletic Conference Montclair State (23-3)
North Atlantic Conference Husson (19-9)
North Coast Athletic Conference Oberlin (21-7)
North Eastern Athletic Conference Keuka (21-5)
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Wisconsin Lutheran (24-3)
Northwest Conference George Fox (24-3)
Ohio Athletic Conference Marietta (24-4)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Randolph-Macon (22-5)
Presidents’ Athletic Conference Thomas More (26-1)
Skyline Conference Old Westbury (23-3)
Southern Athletic Association Oglethorpe (21-7)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Chapman (23-4)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas) (23-3)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster (20-6)
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Geneseo (25-2)
University Athletic Association Chicago (23-2)
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Superior (23-4)
USA South Athletic Conference Piedmont (23-5)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Whitewater (24-3)

Pool B Berth (1)

Valley Forge (15-8) 

Pool C Berths (20)

Albright (20-7)
Bowdoin (24-2)
Christopher Newport (23-4)
DePauw (25-2)
Emory and Henry (22-6)
Gustavus Adolphus (22-6)
Haverford (21-6)
Ithaca (20-7)
Juniata (22-5)
Rochester (New York) (21-4)
Rochester Institute of Technology (21-6)
Roger Williams (23-5)
Saint Benedict (22-4)
The College of New Jersey (21-6)
Trine (24-3)
Tufts (23-4)
Texas-Dallas (23-4)
Washington U. in St. Louis (18-7)
Wheaton (Illinois) (22-5)
Whitman (22-4)



Schools with most players selected in single WNBA draft

Every so often, the WNBA Draft is dominated by a single school. Here's a look at the schools with the most selections in a single draft.

The colleges (and conferences) with the most players taken in the 2023 WNBA Draft

Thirty-six new players were drafted into WNBA. Here's which schools and conferences had the most in 2023.

Every WNBA draft No. 1 overall pick, and where they went to college

Here's where every top pick in WNBA draft history went to school, from 1997-2023.