basketball-women-d1 flag

Rick Nixon | | March 27, 2019

Regional sites named for 2021 and 2022 DI women’s basketball championship

The NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee has awarded regional-round hosting duties for the 2021 and 2022 championships to seven cities, with Spokane, Washington, hosting in both years. 

Selected to host regionals in 2021 are Albany, New York (Times Union Center); the Austin, Texas, area (H-E-B Center in Cedar Park); Cincinnati (Cintas Center); and Spokane (Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena), with play taking place March 26-29. Albany, which also will serve as a regional host site in 2019, has hosted twice previously, in 2015 and 2018. Austin, which has hosted an NCAA championship-record 18 regional games at the Frank Erwin Center, will host in 2021 at the H-E-B Center. The Cintas Center in Cincinnati will be hosting regional play for the first time after hosting first- and second-round action in 2001, 2010 and 2011. An experienced host site, Spokane previously welcomed regional play in 2001, 2008, 2013, 2015 and 2018.

RELATED: Top moments from Notre Dame's title | Ogunbowale's incredible performance

In 2022, Bridgeport, Connecticut (Webster Bank Arena); Greensboro, North Carolina (Greensboro Coliseum); Spokane; and Wichita, Kansas (Intrust Bank Arena) will serve as the four regional sites, March 25-28. Bridgeport, which previously hosted regional play in 2006, 2013, 2016 and 2017, is currently tied for third on the all-time regional games hosted list with 12 along with another 2022 regional host venue, the Greensboro Coliseum, which hosted regional games in 1999, 2007, 2008 and 2015. Intrust Bank Arena will be hosting regional championship action for the first time, previously hosting first- and second-round play in 2011.

RELATED: So. Carolina turns to experienced guards after years of front court domination

“The committee is pleased that over the next four years regional championship play will take place in 12 different cities, all with proven championship hosting experience,” said Rhonda Lundin Bennett, chair of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee and senior associate athletics director at Nevada. “We are counting on the bar being raised by these host communities so that our student-athletes, teams and fans continue to have an unforgettable championship experience.”

Here is a full list of upcoming regional sites for the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship from 2019 to 2022:

2019 dates Host(s) City, State Facility
March 29-April 1 Siena College and Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Albany, New York Times Union Center
March 29-April 1  DePaul Chicago, Illinois  Wintrust Arena
March 29-April 1 Atlantic Coast Conference Greensboro, North Carolina Greensboro Coliseum
March 29-April 1 Oregon State Portland, Oregon Moda Center
2020 dates Host(s) City, State Facility
March 27-30 SMU and Dallas Sports Commission Dallas, Texas Moody Coliseum
March 27-30  Purdue Fort Wayne Fort Wayne, Indiana Allen County War Memorial Coliseum
March 27-30 Southern Conference Greenville, South Carolina Bon Secours Wellness Arena
March 27-30 Oregon State Portland, Oregon  Moda Center
2021 dates Host(s) City, State Facility
March 26-29 Siena College and Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Albany, New York Times Union Center
March 26-29 Texas Austin (Cedar Park), Texas H-E-B Center
March 26-29 Xavier and Cincinnati USA Sports Commission Cincinnati, Ohio Cintas Center
March 26-29 Idaho Spokane, Washington  Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena
2022 dates Host(s) City, State Facility
March 25-28 UConn and Fairfield Bridgeport, Connecticut Webster Bank Arena
March 25-28 Atlantic Coast Conference Greensboro, North Carolina  Greensboro Coliseum
March 25-28 Idaho Spokane, Washington Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena
March 25-28 Wichita State Wichita, Kansas Intrust Bank Arena

What's next for Oregon basketball without Sabrina, according to Kelly Graves

Sabrina Ionescu, Satou Sabally and Ruthy Hebard are gone, but the Ducks revamped their roster with the No. 1 recruiting class in the country, strong veterans and a key transfer.

NCAA DII news: RMAC football, DII college basketball is back

Colorado Mesa and Chadron State rolled to victory in DII football this past weekend, while news of spring DII football schedules were announced. We also continue our look at DII college basketball contenders for 2021 and take a look ahead to conference DII cross country championships.

Tampa Bay and Phoenix chosen to host the NCAA Women's Final Four in 2025 and 2026

The NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee has selected Tampa Bay (Amalie Arena) in 2025 and Phoenix (Talking Stick Resort Arena) in 2026 to serve as host sites for the NCAA Women’s Final Four. Tampa Bay will be hosting the Women’s Final Four for a record fourth time, while Phoenix will be hosting its first.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners