basketball-women-d2 flag

Wayne Cavadi | | March 27, 2019

DII women's basketball: Drury's undefeated run comes to an end at the DII Elite Eight

DII Women's Basketball: 2019 Selection Show

The 2018-19 DII women's basketball season ended with two undefeated teams. Both Drury and UC San Diego entered the postseason on a quest for perfection.

And now none remain.

PRINT YOUR BRACKET: Bracket, times, and info for the 2019 DII women's tournament | Interactive bracket 

The Panthers and Tritons made it through their respective conference championships unscathed, carrying their undefeated records into the NCAA tournament. Drury and UC San Diego both won first-round games, but the Tritons lost to Azusa Pacific in the second round. 

FUN FACTS: 1 thing to know about every team in the Elite Eight | Predicting the champion

Only Drury remained in the hunt and made it to the national semifinals as the No. 1 overall seed in Columbus, Ohio. After an impressive quarterfinals victory over Nova Southeastern, the Panthers dropped a heartbreaker to Lubbock Christian, 69-60. 

No. 1 Drury (35-1)

Signature wins: Nov. 23, 76-43 over No. 24 Lindenwood; Jan. 12, 69-66 over No. 18 Lewis; Jan. 26, 77-50 over Southern Indiana; 72-66 over Truman

The Panthers completed their perfect regular season in dominating fashion, downing William Jewell 91-34. Drury swept through the GLVC tourney with little issue, earning an automatic entry to the NCAA DII tournament selection. The Panthers were strong in the NCAA DII tournament but fell just short of the fifth undefeated season in DII women's basketball history.

Mar. 15 Kentucky Wesleyan W, 88-57
Mar. 16 Northern Michigan W, 78-56
Mar. 18 Midwest Region championship, Grand Valley State W, 51-44
Mar. 26 Elite Eight: vs. No. 8 Nova Southeastern W, 91-60
Mar. 27 Semifinals vs. No. 5 Lubbock Christian L, 69-60

MORE FROM DII WOMEN'S BASKETBALL: Programs with the most titles | Top news

5 DII women's basketball teams to watch during the 2020-21 season

Here are 5 DII women's college basketball teams primed for big-time seasons in 2020-21.

DII women's basketball: Drury's Hailey Diestelkamp named 2020 WBCA Player of the Year

Hailey Diestelkamp, of Drury University, is the 2020 WBCA Division II Player of the Year and headlines the 2020 WBCA Division II Coaches’ All-America team, announced by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

DII women's basketball: Drury's Molly Miller named 2020 WBCA National Coach of the Year

Molly Miller, head coach at Drury, has been named the 2020 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners