basketball-women-d1 flag

Beth Maiman | | April 8, 2019

Baylor wins 2019 national championship after defeating Notre Dame, 82-81

Baylor wins National Championship

TAMPA — Baylor will be leaving Tampa with some hardware.

The Bears earned the program's third national title after defeating the reigning champion Notre Dame, 82-81 on Sunday night.

Baylor's starting forward Lauren Cox sustained an injury in the third quarter, leading freshman Nalyssa Smith to come in and step up big for Baylor. She went 7-for-9, scoring 14 points and picking up six rebounds. Grad transfer Chloe Jackson had 26 points and five assists. Senior Kalani Brown had 20 points and 13 rebounds. 

"My teammates and my coaches, they just believe in me so much. And for Lauren Cox, she got us here and we had to finish the job for her," Jackson said on the court after the game.

Notre Dame showed up in the fourth quarter to give the Bears a scare. With seconds left in the game, Moon Ursin fouled Arike Ogunbowale. Ogunbowale, a senior for Notre Dame and the hero of last season, missed the first and made the second.

Catch up on everything you may have missed below.


2019 NCAA women's basketball tournament: Bracket

Click or tap here for a printable bracket.

Women's Basketball Bracket

2019 NCAA women's basketball tournament: Schedule, scores, TV channels


First Round — Friday, March 22

First Round — Saturday, March 23

Second Round — Sunday, March 24

Second Round — Monday, March 25

Third Round — Friday, March 29

Third Round — Saturday, March 30

NCAA tournament: Interactive bracket

Regional Finals — Sunday, March 31

Regional Finals — Monday, April 1

National Semifinals - Friday, April 5

National Championship - Sunday, April 7 

NCAA women's basketball tournament: Champions, history

2018 Notre Dame (34-3) Muffet McGraw 61-58 Mississippi State Columbus, Ohio
2017 South Carolina (33-4) Dawn Staley 67-55 Mississippi State Dallas, Texas
2016 Connecticut (38-0) Geno Auriemma 82-51 Syracuse Indianapolis, Ind.
2015 Connecticut (38-1) Geno Auriemma 63-53 Notre Dame Tampa, Fla.
2014 Connecticut (40-0) Geno Auriemma 79-58 Notre Dame Nashville, Tenn.
2013 Connecticut (35-4) Geno Auriemma 93-60 Louisville New Orleans, La.
2012 Baylor (40-0) Kim Mulkey 80-61 Notre Dame Denver, Colo.
2011 Texas A&M (33-5) Gary Blair 76-70 Notre Dame Indianapolis, Ind.
2010 Connecticut (39-0) Geno Auriemma 53-47 Stanford San Antonio, Texas
2009 Connecticut (39-0) Geno Auriemma 76-54 Louisville St. Louis, Mo.
2008 Tennessee (36-2) Pat Summitt 64-48 Stanford Tampa, Fla.
2007 Tennessee (34-3) Pat Summitt 59-46 Rutgers Cleveland, Ohio
2006 Maryland (34-4) Brenda Frese 78-75 (OT) Duke Boston, Mass.
2005 Baylor (33-3) Kim Mulkey 84-62 Michigan State Indianapolis, Ind.
2004 Connecticut (31-4) Geno Auriemma 70-61 Tennessee New Orleans, La.
2003 Connecticut (37-1) Geno Auriemma 73-68 Tennessee Atlanta, Ga.
2002 Connecticut (39-0) Geno Auriemma 82-70 Oklahoma San Antonio, Texas
2001 Notre Dame (34-2) Muffet McGraw 68-66 Purdue St. Louis, Mo.
2000 Connecticut (36-1) Geno Auriemma 71-52 Tennessee Philadelphia, Pa.
1999 Purdue (34-1) Carolyn Peck 62-45 Duke San Jose, Calif.
1998 Tennessee (39-0) Pat Summitt 93-75 Louisiana Tech Kansas City, Mo.
1997 Tennessee (29-10) Pat Summitt 68-59 Old Dominion Cincinnati, Ohio
1996 Tennessee (32-4) Pat Summitt 83-65 Georgia Charlotte, N.C.
1995 Connecticut (35-0) Geno Auriemma 70-64 Tennessee Minneapolis, Minn.
1994 North Carolina (33-2) Sylvia Hatchell 60-59 Louisiana Tech Richmond, Va.
1993 Texas Tech (31-3) Marsha Sharp 84-82 Ohio State Atlanta, Ga.
1992 Stanford (30-3) Tara VanDerveer 78-62 Western Kentucky Los Angeles, Calif.
1991 Tennessee (30-5) Pat Summitt 70-67 (OT) Virginia New Orleans, La.
1990 Stanford (32-1) Tara VanDerveer 88-81 Auburn Knoxville, Tenn.
1989 Tennessee (35-2) Pat Summitt 76-60 Auburn Tacoma, Wash.
1988 Louisiana Tech (32-2) Leon Barmore 56-54 Auburn Tacoma, Wash.
1987 Tennessee (28-6) Pat Summitt 67-44 Louisiana Tech Austin, Texas
1986 Texas (34-0) Jody Conradt 97-81 Southern California Lexington, Ky.
1985 Old Dominion (31-3) Marianne Stanley 70-65 Georgia Austin, Texas
1984 Southern California (29-4) Linda Sharp 72-61 Tennessee Los Angeles, Calif.
1983 Southern California (31-2) Linda Sharp 69-67 Louisiana Tech Norfolk, Va.
1982 Louisiana Tech (35-1) Sonja Hogg 76-62 Cheyney Norfolk, Va.

How are NCAA women's basketball tournament teams selected?

There are 64 teams in the single-elimination tournament. Of those, 32 qualify automatically as conference champions by winning conference tournaments. The rest will be selected as at-large teams by the Division I Women's Basketball Championship Sport Committee.

NCAA tournament: 5 takeaways from the bracket reveal

Earlier this season, the committee twice announced its top-16 teams: Feb. 11 and March 4. However, these reveals have no bearing on the final 64-team field. In the March 4 reveal, Baylor, Louisville, Notre Dame and UConn were No. 1 seeds.

When the bracket was revealed, Baylor, Louisville, Notre Dame and Mississippi State received No. 1 seeds. UConn dropped to a No. 2 seed.

NCAA women's basketball tournament: Automatic qualifiers

America East: Maine (25-7); No. 14 seed

American Athletic Conference: UConn (31-2); No. 2 seed

Atlantic 10: Fordham (25-8); No. 14 seed

ACC: Notre Dame (30-3); No. 1 seed

Atlantic Sun: Florida Gulf Coast (28-4); No. 13 seed

Big 12: Baylor (31-1); No. 1 seed

Big East: DePaul (26-7); No. 6 seed

Big Sky: Portland State (25-7); No. 15 seed

Big South: Radford (26-6); No. 14 seed

Big Ten: Iowa (26-6); No. 2 seed

Big West: UC Davis (24-6); No. 15 seed

CAA: Towson (20-12); No. 15 seed

Conference USA: Rice (28-3); No. 12 seed

Horizon League: Wright State (27-6); No. 13 seed

Ivy League: Princeton (22-9); No. 11 seed

MAAAC: Quinnipiac (26-6); No. 11 seed

MAC: Buffalo (23-9); No. 10 seed

MEAC: Bethune-Cookman (21-10); No. 16 seed

Missouri Valley Conference: Missouri State (22-9); No. 11 seed

Mountain West Conference: Boise State (28-4); No. 13 seed

Northeast Conference: Robert Morris (22-10); No. 16 seed

Ohio Valley Conference: Belmont (26-6); No. 13 seed

Pac-12: Stanford (28-4); No. 2 seed

Patriot League: Bucknell (28-5); No. 12 seed

SEC: Mississippi State (30-2); No. 1 seed

Southern Conference: Mercer (25-7); No. 15 seed

Southland Conference: Abilene Christian (23-9); No. 16 seed

SWAC: Southern (20-12); No. 16 seed

Summit League: South Dakota State (26-6); No. 6 seed

Sun Belt Conference: Little Rock (21-10); No. 12 seed

WCC: BYU (25-6); No. 7 seed

WAC: New Mexico State (25-6); No. 14 seed

2023 Big 12 softball: Bracket, schedule, scores, TV times for the tournament

The 2023 Big 12 softball bracket, schedule and scores for the conference tournament, played May 11-13 in Oklahoma City.

All-time best performances in the NCAA women's basketball tournament

We dug into the record books to compile a list of the best all-time performances by players in the women's NCAA tournament.

Schools with the most DI women's basketball national championships

UConn has more DI women's college basketball titles than any other program. Here's a look at the women’s basketball teams that have won two or more national championships.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners