basketball-women-d1 flag

Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame | October 24, 2019

Women's college basketball awards: 20 power forwards named to McClain Award watch list

Sights and sounds of Baylor's National Championship

Springfield, Mass. — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2020 Katrina McClain Award. Named after the two-time All-American and 1987 National Player of the Year, the annual award in its third year recognizes the top power forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

“From the University of Georgia to Team USA, Katrina McClain was a standout power forward,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. â€śThe young women on our Starting Five watch list exhibit many of the characteristics that made her such a successful athlete and we look forward to seeing the energy and effort they will bring to the court this season.”

LIEBERMAN AWARD: 20 point guards named to the preseason watch list

The Selection Committee for the Katrina McClain Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. New to the award this season is Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2020 Katrina McClain Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain-Pittman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.

The winner of the 2020 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award include Napheesa Collier, Connecticut (2019) and Ruthy Hebard,Oregon (2018).

DRYSDALE AWARD: 20 shooting guards named to the preseason watch list

For more information on the 2020 Katrina McClain Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #McClainAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, October 25.

2020 Katrina McClain Award Candidates*

Cate Reese Arizona
Unique Thompson Auburn
Lauren Cox Baylor
Summer Hemphill Buffalo
Sara Rhine Drake
Leaonna Odom Duke
Kiah Gillespie Florida State
Peyton Williams Kansas State
Ayana Mitchell LSU
Stephanie Jones Maryland
Naz Hillmon Michigan
Taiye Bello Minnesota
Ruthy Hebard Oregon
Brooklyn McDavid Pacific
Eleah Parker Penn
Bella Alarie Princeton
Francesca Belibi Stanford
Joyner Holmes Texas
N'dea Jones Texas A&M
Hanna Crymble Vermont

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2019-20 season

MILLER AWARD: 20 small forwards named to preseason watch list

South Carolina's Dawn Staley is AP women's coach of the year

South Carolina women's basketball coach Dawn Staley is The Associated Press women's coach of the year for 2020.

Oregon star Sabrina Ionescu is AP women’s player of the year

Oregon star Sabrina Ionescu was unanimously voted the women's college basketball AP Player of the Year for the 2019-2020 season.

2020 Naismith Defensive Player of the Year finalists announced

On March 23, the 2020 finalists for the Naismith Defensive Player of the Year were announced. Four players were named finalists for the men's and women's awards, find out who made the cut here.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners