basketball-women-d1 flag

Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame | October 25, 2019

Women's college basketball awards: 20 centers named to Lisa Leslie Award watch list

Will this be the year for Oregon women's basketball?

Springfield, Mass. — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2020 Lisa Leslie Award. Named after the three-time All-American and 1994 National Player of the Year, the annual award in its third year recognizes the top centers in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

“As one of the most recognizable faces in the women’s game, Lisa Leslie was an accomplished athlete and fan favorite at USC and in the WNBA,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “We are very thankful to have her insights and participation as we evaluate this year’s Starting Five candidates and we hope the fans will make their opinions heard as well via our new online voting component thanks to Dell Technologies.”

PRESEASON: 20 power forwards named to McClain watch list

The Selection Committee for the Lisa Leslie Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. New to the award this season is Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2019 Lisa Leslie Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Leslie and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.

The winner of the 2020 Lisa Leslie Center Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Award include Megan Gustafson, Iowa (2019) and A’ja Wilson,South Carolina (2018).

For more information on the 2020 Lisa Leslie Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #LeslieAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live today, October 25.

Player School
Bayley Plummer Appalachian State
Queen Egbo Baylor
Olivia Nelson-Ododa UConn
Jade Williams Duke
Kristin Scott Iowa State
Kayla Cooper-Williams James Madison
Shakira Austin Maryland
Beatrice Mompremier Miami
Elissa Cunane N.C. State
Kate Cain Nebraska
Janelle Bailey North Carolina
Eleah Parker Penn
Ae'Rianna Harris Purdue
Nancy Mulkey Rice
Aliyah Boston South Carolina
Maya Dodson Stanford
Charli Collier Texas
Ciera Johnson Texas A&M
Brittany Brewer Texas Tech
Mariella Fasoula Vanderbilt

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2019-20 season.

2024 NCAA women's basketball tournament bracket predictions, one month into the season

Autumn Johnson gives her first in-season NCAA men's basketball tournament bracket predictions following the first month of action.

Kim Mulkey earns 700th career win as No. 7 LSU women's basketball bests No. 9 Virginia Tech

The No. 7 LSU women's basketball head coach Kim Mulkey received her 700th career win after the Tigers defeated No. 9 Virginia Tech.

The DII women's basketball all-stats starting 5 for November

Here's a look at our dream team based on statistical leaders in DII women’s basketball through November of the 2022-23 season.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners