basketball-women-d1 flag

Beth Maiman | | July 31, 2020

2021 NCAA women's basketball bracket: Printable tournament .PDF

Watch Arike Ogunbowale's 2018 championship game winner from every angle

The 2021 Women's Final Four is set for April 2 and 4, 2021 in San Antonio, Texas. First round action for the 2021 NCAA women's basketball tournament will begin on March 19, 2021. 

The 2020 tournament, as well as other winter and spring sports, were canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic. The NCAA released the following statement to announce the 2020 men's and women's basketball championships and all other winter and spring sports are canceled.

  • Today, NCAA President Mark Emmert and the Board of Governors canceled the Division I men’s and women’s 2020 basketball tournaments, as well as all remaining winter and spring NCAA championships. This decision is based on the evolving COVID-19 public health threat, our ability to ensure the events do not contribute to spread of the pandemic, and the impracticality of hosting such events at any time during this academic year given ongoing decisions by other entities. 


2021 NCAA women's basketball tournament: Bracket

Click or tap here for a printable bracket.

2021 women's basketball bracket

2021 NCAA women's basketball tournament dates, schedule

Regionals will be played from March 26-29, 2021. Specific dates for each regional are TBD.

Selection Show Monday, March 15 N/A N/A
First Round
(Round of 64)
Friday, March 19
Saturday, March 20
Campus sites Campus sites
Second Round
(Round of 32)
Sunday, March 21
Monday, March 22
Campus sites Campus sites
Albany Regional
(Sweet 16, Elite Eight)
TBD Albany, New York Times Union Center
Austin Regional
(Sweet 16, Elite Eight)
TBD Cedar Park, Texas H-E-B Center at Cedar Park
Cincinnati Regional
(Sweet 16, Elite Eight)
TBD Cincinnati, Ohio Cintas Center
Spokane Regional
(Sweet 16, Elite Eight)
TBD Spokane, Washington

Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena

Women's Final Four
National Championship
Friday, April 2
Sunday, April 4
San Antonio, Texas Alamodome

How are NCAA women's basketball tournament teams selected?

There are 64 teams in the single-elimination tournament. Of those, 32 qualify automatically as conference champions by winning conference tournaments. The rest will be selected as at-large teams by the Division I Women's Basketball Championship Sport Committee.

How much do seeds matter in the NCAA women's basketball tournament?

Since 1982, at least one No. 1 seed has reached the national semifinals each season. In 2019, two top seeds made the Women's Final Four, Baylor and Notre Dame, while the other two teams, Oregon and UConn were two seeds. Going into the 2020 season, UConn has been a top seed 22 times. Two No. 1 seeds have played for the title 14 times.

UConn has the most national titles, winning 11. Tennessee is second with eight and Baylor has three.

NCAA women's basketball tournament: Future sites

Year Site Venue Dates
2021 San Antonio Alamodome April 2 and 4
2022 Minneapolis Target Center April 1 and 3
2023 Dallas American Airlines Arena March 31 and April 2
2024 Cleveland Quicken Loans Arena April 5 and 7

Who are some NCAA women's basketball Cinderellas?

The biggest Cinderella is Harvard, which which was a No. 16 seed when it shocked No. 1 Stanford 71-67 in 1998. That's 20 years before the men's tournament had its first 16-over-1 stunner: UMBC against No. 1 Virginia.

However, no No. 15 or No. 14 seed has won a game. There have been six No. 13 seeds to beat a No. 4. Three 13 seeds have also advanced to the Sweet 16 (2007 Marist; 2005 Liberty; 1994 Texas A&M). Gonzaga, a No. 11 seed in 2011, is the lowest seed to reach an Elite Eight. No double-digit seed has made the Women's Final Four.

NCAA women's basketball tournament: Champions, history

2019 Baylor (37-1) Kim Mulkey 82-81 Notre Dame Tampa, Fla.
2018 Notre Dame (34-3) Muffet McGraw 61-58 Mississippi State Columbus, Ohio
2017 South Carolina (33-4) Dawn Staley 67-55 Mississippi State Dallas, Texas
2016 Connecticut (38-0) Geno Auriemma 82-51 Syracuse Indianapolis, Ind.
2015 Connecticut (38-1) Geno Auriemma 63-53 Notre Dame Tampa, Fla.
2014 Connecticut (40-0) Geno Auriemma 79-58 Notre Dame Nashville, Tenn.
2013 Connecticut (35-4) Geno Auriemma 93-60 Louisville New Orleans, La.
2012 Baylor (40-0) Kim Mulkey 80-61 Notre Dame Denver, Colo.
2011 Texas A&M (33-5) Gary Blair 76-70 Notre Dame Indianapolis, Ind.
2010 Connecticut (39-0) Geno Auriemma 53-47 Stanford San Antonio, Texas
2009 Connecticut (39-0) Geno Auriemma 76-54 Louisville St. Louis, Mo.
2008 Tennessee (36-2) Pat Summitt 64-48 Stanford Tampa, Fla.
2007 Tennessee (34-3) Pat Summitt 59-46 Rutgers Cleveland, Ohio
2006 Maryland (34-4) Brenda Frese 78-75 (OT) Duke Boston, Mass.
2005 Baylor (33-3) Kim Mulkey 84-62 Michigan State Indianapolis, Ind.
2004 Connecticut (31-4) Geno Auriemma 70-61 Tennessee New Orleans, La.
2003 Connecticut (37-1) Geno Auriemma 73-68 Tennessee Atlanta, Ga.
2002 Connecticut (39-0) Geno Auriemma 82-70 Oklahoma San Antonio, Texas
2001 Notre Dame (34-2) Muffet McGraw 68-66 Purdue St. Louis, Mo.
2000 Connecticut (36-1) Geno Auriemma 71-52 Tennessee Philadelphia, Pa.
1999 Purdue (34-1) Carolyn Peck 62-45 Duke San Jose, Calif.
1998 Tennessee (39-0) Pat Summitt 93-75 Louisiana Tech Kansas City, Mo.
1997 Tennessee (29-10) Pat Summitt 68-59 Old Dominion Cincinnati, Ohio
1996 Tennessee (32-4) Pat Summitt 83-65 Georgia Charlotte, N.C.
1995 Connecticut (35-0) Geno Auriemma 70-64 Tennessee Minneapolis, Minn.
1994 North Carolina (33-2) Sylvia Hatchell 60-59 Louisiana Tech Richmond, Va.
1993 Texas Tech (31-3) Marsha Sharp 84-82 Ohio State Atlanta, Ga.
1992 Stanford (30-3) Tara VanDerveer 78-62 Western Kentucky Los Angeles, Calif.
1991 Tennessee (30-5) Pat Summitt 70-67 (OT) Virginia New Orleans, La.
1990 Stanford (32-1) Tara VanDerveer 88-81 Auburn Knoxville, Tenn.
1989 Tennessee (35-2) Pat Summitt 76-60 Auburn Tacoma, Wash.
1988 Louisiana Tech (32-2) Leon Barmore 56-54 Auburn Tacoma, Wash.
1987 Tennessee (28-6) Pat Summitt 67-44 Louisiana Tech Austin, Texas
1986 Texas (34-0) Jody Conradt 97-81 Southern California Lexington, Ky.
1985 Old Dominion (31-3) Marianne Stanley 70-65 Georgia Austin, Texas
1984 Southern California (29-4) Linda Sharp 72-61 Tennessee Los Angeles, Calif.
1983 Southern California (31-2) Linda Sharp 69-67 Louisiana Tech Norfolk, Va.
1982 Louisiana Tech (35-1) Sonja Hogg 76-62 Cheyney Norfolk, Va.

Undefeated DI women's college basketball teams in 2021

We're tracking the undefeated DI women's college basketball teams through the 2020-21 season.

2021 DI Women’s Basketball Championship planning announced

With less than two months until Selection Monday, the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee provided planning updates for the 2021 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship.

2021 NCAA women's basketball tournament selection show: Date, time, TV channel

The 2021 NCAA women's college basketball bracket for the DI championship will be revealed at 7 p.m. Eastern on Monday, March 15, on ESPN.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners