basketball-women-d1 flag

Elizabeth LaFleur | | February 9, 2021

2021 Midseason Team for Naismith Women's Player of the Year announced

The 2021 NCAA women's basketball bracket, predicted just past the halfway mark of the season

The Naismith Trophy announced its Midseason Team for the 2021 Women's Player of the Year award. 

Sabrina Ionescu from Oregon won the 2020 prize. 

The list includes 30 players from 7 different conferences. 

NAISMITH HONORS: 2021 Midseason Team for Defensive Player of the Year

Kentucky's Rhyne Howard returns to the 2021 list after becoming a finalist in 2020. 

The list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists on March 2 before narrowing again to four finalists on March 19.

The winner of the 2021 Jersey Mike's Naismith Women's College Player of the Year Award will be announced April 3, the day before the NCAA championship game. 

See the full Midseason Team below.

Aliyah Boston  So. F South Carolina SEC
Paige Bueckers Fr. G UConn BIG EAST
Caitlin Clark Fr. G Iowa Big Ten
Charli Collier Jr. F/C Texas Big 12
Zia Cooke So. G South Carolina SEC
Elissa Cunane  Jr. C NC State ACC
Rennia Davis Sr. G/F Tennessee SEC
Chelsea Dungee Sr. G Arkansas SEC
Dana Evans Sr. G Louisville ACC
Kysre Gondrezick Sr. G West Virginia Big 12
Arella Guirantes Sr. G Rutgers Big Ten
Anastasia Hayes Jr. G Middle Tennessee State C-USA
Naz Hillmon  Jr. F Michigan Big Ten
Rhyne Howard  Jr. G Kentucky SEC
Rickea Jackson So.  F Mississippi St. SEC
Ashley Joens Jr. G/F Iowa State  Big 12 
Haley Jones So.  G Stanford  Pac-12
N'dea Jones Sr. F Texas A&M  SEC
Dorka Juhász Jr. F Ohio State Big Ten
Natasha Mack Sr. F Oklahoma State Big 12
Aari McDonald Sr. G Arizona Pac-12
Olivia Nelson-Ododa Jr. F UConn BIG EAST
Michaela Onyenwere Sr. F UCLA Pac-12
Charisma Osborne So. G UCLA Pac-12
Ashley Owusu So. G Maryland Big Ten
Lindsey Pulliam Sr. G Northwestern Big Ten
NaLyssa Smith  Jr. F Baylor Big 12 
Jasmine Walker Sr. F Alabama SEC
Kiana Williams Sr. G Stanford  Pac-12
Christyn Williams  Jr. G UConn BIG EAST

Proposal to expand DI women’s basketball tournament field advances

Division I Women’s Basketball Committee and Division I Women’s Basketball Oversight Committee voted unanimously to advance proposal to expand Division I Women’s Basketball Championship field to 68 teams.

College basketball: Exploration of combined men’s and women’s Final Fours begins

Following yesterday's announcement that the March Madness brand will be used for the DI women's basketball championship, DI Men’s and Women’s Basketball Committees agree the earliest a joint event could occur is 2027.

March Madness brand will be used for DI Women’s Basketball Championship

The NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship will use March Madness marketing and branding beginning with the 2022 tournament.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners