basketball-women-d1 flag

Elizabeth LaFleur | | March 2, 2021

Here are the five finalists for the 2021 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award

Women's basketball's second top-16 reveal unveils 2021 NCAA tournament region names

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today the five finalists for the 2021 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award. 

The award honors the top shooting guard in women's NCAA Division I college basketball each year. The award is named after Ann Meyers Drysdale — the first player, male or female, named to an All-America Team in four straight college seasons. 

This is the fourth year for the award. Previous winners are Arizona's Aari McDonald, Louisville's Asia Durr and Mississippi State's Victoria Vivians. 

MORE AWARDS: Five finalists for Nancy Lieberman Award

Below are the five finalists for this year's award. A winner will be announced April 9 along with the remaining four members of the women's starting five. 

The five finalists for the 2021 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award are Chelsea Dungee (Arkansas), Dana Evans (Louisville), Ashley Owusu (Maryland), Arella Guirantes (Rutgers) and Zia Cooke (South Carolina).

Name School Class
Chelsea Dungee Arkansas Redshirt Sr.
Dana Evans Louisville Sr.
Ashley Owusu Maryland So.
Arella Guirantes Rutgers Redshirt Sr.
Zia Cooke South Carolina So.

7 schools with the most women's basketball national championships

UConn has more DI women's college basketball titles than any other program. Here's a look at the seven women’s basketball teams that have won two or more national championships.

2021 NCAA women's basketball tournament dates, schedule

Here is the complete 2021 NCAA women's basketball tournament schedule, including TV times and networks for all games on the way to the Women's Final Four and the championship game in San Antonio, Texas.

UConn freshman Paige Bueckers named 2021 Naismith Trophy winner

UConn freshman Paige Bueckers was named the 2021 Naismith Trophy winner on Saturday, April 3. She's the first freshman recipient in the 39-year history of the women's award.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners