basketball-women-d1 flag

Elizabeth LaFleur | | March 3, 2021

These are the five finalists for the 2021 Cheryl Miller Award

Women's basketball's second top-16 reveal unveils 2021 NCAA tournament region names

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced the five finalists for the 2021 Cheryl Miller Award. The award recognizes the top small forward in women's NCAA Division I college basketball. 

The award is named after three-time Naismith Player of the Year Cheryl Miller. Miller played for the University of Southern California from 1982 to 1986. In 1984, she led the olympic team to a gold medal.

PREDICTIONS: The 2021 NCAA women's basketball bracket, predicted just past the halfway mark 

The winner of the 2021 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award will be presented April 9, along with the four other members of the Women’s Starting Five. 

Below is the full list of finalists.

Name School Class
Ashley Joens Iowa State Jr.
Rhyne Howard Kentucky Jr.
Haley Jones Stanford So.
Rennia Davis Tennessee Sr.
Michaela Onyenwere UCLA Sr.


You have to see San Jose State's new glow-in-the-dark basketball court

San Jose State's new basketball court at Provident Credit Union Event Center is something to see.

Finalist cities announced for 2027-2031 NCAA Division I Women's Final Fours

Seven cities have been selected by the Division I Women’s Basketball Committee as finalists to host the NCAA Women’s Final Four from 2027 through 2031.

Rutgers' C. Vivian Stringer announces retirement after Hall of Fame coaching career

Rutgers women's basketball coach C. Vivian Stringer announces her retirement after a Hall of Fame career, leaving the game with 1,055 wins and countless lives improved through leadership, mentorship and guidance.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners