basketball-women-d1 flag

Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame | October 29, 2021

20 point guards named to watch list for 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award

Iowa women's basketball star Caitlin Clark is ready for more as a sophomore

Springfield, Mass. (Oct. 25, 2021) — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award. Now in its 23rd year, the award recognizes the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates. To be considered for this prestigious award, candidates exhibit the floor leadership, playmaking and ball-handling skills of Class of 1996 Hall-of-Famer Nancy Lieberman.

PRESEASON WATCH LISTS: Shooting guards | Small forwards | Power forwards | Centers

“The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is proud to honor and celebrate both men and women at all levels of the game,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “The individuals being recognized this week on the Women’s Starting Five watch lists have worked extremely hard to hone their craft and shining examples of why the future is so bright for our game. We look forward to evaluating this year’s top point guards with Nancy Lieberman, a Hall of Famer who helped pave the way for today’s female athletes.”

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2022 Nancy Liberman Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just five. In March the five finalists will be presented to Ms. Lieberman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected. 

PRESEASON RANKINGS: Here is the first AP Poll of the season

The winner of the 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include Paige Bueckers, UConn (2021), Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon (2018-20), Kelsey Plum, Washington (2017), Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut (2015-16), Odyssey Sims, Baylor (2014), Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame (2012-13), Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga (2011), Andrea Riley, Oklahoma State (2010), Renee Montgomery, Connecticut (2009), Kristi Toliver, Maryland (2008), Lindsey Harding, Duke (2007), Ivory Latta, North Carolina (2006), Temeka Johnson, LSU (2005), Diana Taurasi, Connecticut (2003-04), and Sue Bird, Connecticut (2000-02).

POWER 10: See what teams landed in the preseason Power 10

For more information on the 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #LiebermanAward on Twitter and Instagram.

Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, October 29.

2022 Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates* 


Dyaisha Fair


Ali Patberg


Caitlin Clark


Jazmine Massengill


Hailey Van Lith


Ashley Owusu


Amy Dilk


Myah Taylor

Mississippi State

Anastasia Haye

Mississippi State

Raina Perez

NC State

Diamond Johnson

NC State

Veronica Burton


Te-Hina Pao Pao


Lauren Park-Lane

Seton Hall

Destanni Henderson

South Carolina

Lauren Heard


Gina Conti


Paige Bueckers


Dru Gylten


Katia Gallegos


*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2021-2022 season*

Women's basketball rankings: Indiana and Iowa fall in Week 4's Power 10

Indiana and Iowa both suffered tough losses in an exciting week of women's college basketball to wrap up November. Both teams fell in Autumn Johnson's Week 4 Power 10 rankings.

Women's college basketball: Kim Mulkey leads LSU to first non-conference win over ranked opponent since 2014

Well, wasn’t that an eventful 48 hours in women’s college basketball?

NCAA unveils 2023 Women's Final Four logo for Dallas

The NCAA has unveiled the logo for the women's basketball Final Four in 2023.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners