basketball-women-d1 flag

Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame | October 29, 2021

20 small forwards named to 2022 Cheryl Miller Award watch list

Haley Jones NCAA tournament highlights

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2022 Cheryl Miller Award. Named after the three-time Naismith Player of the Year and Class of 1995 Hall of Famer, the annual award in its fifth year recognizes the top small forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

PRESEASON WATCH LISTS: Point guards | Shooting guards | Power forwards | Centers

A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“The student-athletes named to the Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year watchlist have worked tremendously hard and should be proud of all they have achieved,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “Cheryl has long been recognized as one of the greatest athletes to ever play our game after an absolutely dominant career at USC and winning a pair of NCAA Championships. We are very much looking forward to working with her alongside our own selection committee in evaluating talent throughout the 2021-22 season.” 

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in fan voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2022 Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just five. In March the five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected.

PRESEASON RANKINGS: Here is the first AP Poll of the season 

The winner of the 2022 Cheryl Miller Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Award include Ashley Joens, Iowa State (2021); Satou Sabally, Oregon (2020); Bridget Carleton, Iowa State (2019) and Gabby Williams, Connecticut (2018).

POWER 10: See what teams landed in the preseason Power 10

For more information on the 2021 Cheryl Miller Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #MillerAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, Oct. 29.

Below is the 20-person watch list for the 2022 Cheryl Miller Award:

Sam Thomas Arizona
Taylor Soule Boston College
Jasmine Dickey Delaware
Elizabeth Balogun Duke
Grace Berger Indiana
Ashley Joens Iowa State
Rhyne Howard Kentucky
Emily Engstler Louisville
Chloe Bibby Maryland
Rickea Jackson Mississippi State
Alyssa Utsby North Carolina
Erica Johnson Ohio
Madi Williams Oklahoma
Andra Espinoza-Hunter Seton Hall
Myah Selland South Dakota State
Haley Jones Stanford
Mia Davis Temple
Rae Burrell Tennessee
Kayla Wells Texas A&M
Vivian Gray Texas Tech

*Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2021-22 season

5 big storylines — and a lot more — to know for the 2022-23 college wrestling season

Here are the key things to know ahead of the 2022-2023 wrestling season, beginning with Spencer Lee and Yianni Diakomihalis looking for their fourth NCAA titles.

25 of the most interesting college wrestlers to watch in the 2022-23 season

Spencer Lee and Yianni Diakomihalis headline this comprehensive list of 25 of the most interesting wrestlers in the country to know ahead of the 2022-23 season.

Dan Hodge Trophy: History, winners, and how it works

Here's the history of the Dan Hodge Trophy, named after one of the all-time greats and given annually to the top college wrestler every year since 1985.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners