basketball-women-d1 flag

Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame | October 29, 2021

20 centers named to 2022 Lisa Leslie Award watch list

Women's basketball stars name their favorite players right now, from other teams

Springfield, Mass. (Oct. 29, 2021) — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2022 Lisa Leslie Award. Named after the three-time All-American,1994 National Player of the Year and Class of 2015 Hall of Famer, the annual award in its fifth year recognizes the top centers in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

PRESEASON WATCH LISTS: Point guards | Shooting guards | Small forwards | Power forwards

“Lisa Leslie is one of the most decorated basketball players of all time, men or women, at the collegiate, international and professional levels, said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “The student-athletes that have been named to the watchlist for this award are unquestionably among the best our game has to offer, and we’re excited to watch them take the court and do what they do best this season. We thank Lisa for her involvement in this selection process, as well as our esteemed committee members and Dell Technologies who makes our fan voting component possible.”

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2022 Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just five. In March the five finalists will be presented to Ms. Leslie and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected.

PRESEASON RANKINGS: Here is the first AP Poll of the season 

The winner of the 2022 Lisa Leslie Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Award include Aliyah Boston, South Carolina (2020-21), Megan Gustafson, Iowa (2019) and A’ja Wilson, South Carolina (2018).

POWER 10: See what teams landed in the preseason Power 10

For more information on the 2022 Lisa Leslie Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #LeslieAward on Twitter and Instagram.

Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies goes live today, October 29.

2022 Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Award Candidates* 


Queen Egbo


Sara Hamson


Jenna Staiti


Mackenzie Holmes


Monika Czinano


Ayoka Lee

Kansas State

Hannah Gusters


Jessika Carter

Mississippi State

Elissa Cunane

NC State

Shakira Austin

Ole Miss

Aliyah Boston

South Carolina

Kamilla Cardoso

South Carolina

Francesca Belibi


Tamari Key


Ila Lane

UC Santa Barbara

Olivia Nelson-Ododa


Eleah Parker


Elizabeth Kitley

Virginia Tech

Nancy Mulkey


Bella Murekatete

Washington State

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2021-2022 season*

Fairfield's Janelle Brown headlines this week's women's basketball starting five

These players earn women's basketball week 4 starting five of the week honors.

Southern Cal is women's basketball team of the week after 5-0 start

After continuing its undefeated start with wins over Seton Hall and Penn State in the Bahamas, Southern Cal earns team of the week honors in women's basketball.

8 biggest surprises in women's college basketball so far this season

Women's college basketball has already fit a year's worth of chaos into just the month of November. Here's a look at the most surprising teams and players so far.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners