basketball-women-d1 flag

Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame | October 21, 2022

20 small forwards named to Cheryl Miller Award watch list

Analyzing the preseason women's college basketball AP poll

Springfield, Mass. (Oct. 19, 2022) — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today the 20 watch-list candidates for the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award. Named after the three-time Naismith Player of the Year and Class of 1995 Hall of Famer, the annual award in its sixth year recognizes the top small forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

PRESEASON WATCH LISTS: Point guards | Shooting guards | Power forwards | Centers 

“We are extremely proud of the work ethic and dedication shown by the student athletes on the Cheryl Miller Award Watch LIST,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “After her dominant career at USC and winning a pair of NCAA Championships, Cheryl is one of the greatest to play our game. We are honored to be working alongside her throughout the 2022-23 season.”

Aijha Blackwell Baylor
Elizabeth Balogun Duke
Jordyn Merritt Florida
Grace Berger Indiana
Ashley Joens Iowa State
Morgan Jones Louisville
Shyanne Sellers Maryland
Mimi Collins NC State
Skyler Gill North Alabama
Alyssa Ustby North Carolina
Madi Williams Oklahoma
Lior Garzon Oklahoma State
Brea Beal South Carolina
Myah Selland South Dakota State
Haley Jones Stanford
Rickea Jackson Tennessee
Shay Holle Texas
Caroline Ducharme UConn
Gianna Kneepkens Utah
Taylor Soule Virginia Tech

2023 MARCH MADNESS Women's NCAA tournament schedule, dates, times

Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, in each of the three rounds starting Friday, October 21. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just five. In March the five finalists will be presented to Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected.

The winner of the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Award (Point Guard), Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (Shooting Guard), Katrina McClain Award (Power Forward) and the Lisa Leslie Award (Center), in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

RANKINGS: South Carolina, Stanford, Texas lead the preseason AP Top 25 poll

Previous winners of the Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Award are Ashley Joens, Iowa State (2021-22), Satou Sabally, Oregon (2020), Bridget Carleton, Iowa State (2019) and Gabby Williams, Connecticut (2018).

For more information on the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophall and #MillerAward on Twitter and Instagram.

Remote file

Everything to know about the 2023 CIAA basketball tournament

Here's what you need to know about the 2023 CIAA basketball tournament.

Top 10 candidates named for the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced 10 women's college basketball small forwards in the running for the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award. Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, begins Friday, Feb. 3.

Cameron Brink highlights this week's women's basketball Starting Five after her first career triple-double

Cameron Brink became just the second player in Pac-12 Conference history to record a triple-double with blocks.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners