ATLANTA –- Baylor senior Brittney Griner ended her college career with her second consecutive Naismith Trophy for Women’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Monday. The announcement was made at the WBCA Awards Program in New Orleans, La.

Griner won the 2013 Naismith Trophy from among a field of finalists that included Delaware senior Elena Delle Donne, Notre Dame senior Skylar Diggins and Stanford junior Chiney Ogwumike.  All three finalists were Naismith Trophy winners in high school.

“Brittney Griner is a special player at both the offensive and defensive ends of the floor, and her contributions to the game will be felt for a very long time,” said Eric Oberman, Executive Director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “We congratulate Brittney for not only winning the Naismith Trophy, but also joining some rather prestigious company as a dual winner.”

Griner was chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s national voting academy. Selections were based on individual performances throughout the 2013 women’s college basketball season, and the fan vote, which accounted for 25 percent of this year’s total. This is the ninth year fans played a role in the selection process. The vote was tabulated and certified by the accounting firm of Habif, Arogeti& Wynne, LLP.  HA&W is the largest independent accounting firm in Georgia and one of the top 50 firms in the United States.

“Congratulations to Brittney Griner on earning her second player of the year title,” said David Christopher, chief marketing officer, AT&T Mobility. “Brittney is a strong competitor, consistent leader and clearly a favorite of the fans and the academy. We are proud to once again present her with the Naismith Trophy for yet another extraordinary performance.”

During Griner’s final two seasons, she led Baylor to a record of 74‐2, including an unprecedented 40‐0 record and the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship in 2012. This season, Griner led the team in scoring in 26 out of 36 games, scored 14 or more points in every regular season and postseason game 20 or more points in 24 games and 30 or more in 10 games. She holds the NCAA career record for dunks during women’s competition (18) and is the first NCAA player to total 2,000 points and 500 blocked shots. During her career, she amassed 3,269 points and 748 blocks (NCAA men’s and women’s records). Griner, at 6‐8, leaves NCAA women’s play as the second all‐time leading scorer in Division I women’s basketball history and three‐time recipient of the Big 12 Player of the Year and four‐time recipient of the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year.

"I am so proud of all Brittney has accomplished during her career at Baylor," Baylor head coach Kim Mulkey said. “She joins some very elite company in winning this prestigious award, and now she has two to her credit. Brittney is truly deserving of the honor and we thank everyone for recognizing this special talent.”

Notable Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year winners include Chamique Holdsclaw, Lisa Leslie, Rebecca Lobo and Tina Charles. The Naismith Women’s Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the women’s college basketball player of the year.