Naismith Trophy

basketball-women-d1 flag | April 7, 2014

UConn's Stewart wins 2014 Women's Naismith Trophy

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Connecticut sophomore Breanna Stewart not only became the sixth UConn player to win the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T, but she joined some stellar company in becoming just the seventh player to win the Naismith Trophy in both high school and college. Former Huskies star Maya Moore was the last to achieve that feat -- having won the Naismith Trophy twice in high school (2006, 2007) and twice in college (2009, 2011).

The Atlanta Tipoff Club made the announcement Monday night at the WBCA Awards Program in Nashville, Tenn.

Stewart was announced as the award winner from among a field of finalists that included Notre Dame senior Kayla McBride, Stanford senior Chiney Ogwumike and Baylor senior Odyssey Sims. UConn has won more Women’s Naismith Trophies than any other school, now with a total of eight.

1983 Anne Donovan Old Dominion
1984 Cheryl Miller USC
1985 Cheryl Miller USC
1986 Cheryl Miller USC
1987 Clarissa Davis Texas
1988 Sue Wicks Rutgers
1989 Clarissa Davis Texas
1990 Jennifer Azzi Stanford
1991 Dawn Staley Virginia
1992 Dawn Staley Virginia
1993 Sheryl Swoopes Texas Tech
1994 Lisa Leslie USC
1995 Rebecca Lobo Connecticut
1996 Saudia Roundtree Georgia
1997 Kate Starbird Stanford
1998 Chamique Holdsclaw Tennessee
1999 Chamique Holdsclaw Tennessee
2000 Tamika Catchings Tennessee
2001 Ruth Riley Notre Dame
2002 Sue Bird Connecticut
2003 Diana Taurasi Connecticut
2004 Diana Taurasi Connecticut
2005 Seimone Augustus LSU
2006 Seimone Augustus LSU
2007 Lindsey Harding Duke
2008 Candace Parker Tennessee
2009 Maya Moore Connecticut
2010 Tina Charles Connecticut
2011 Maya Moore Connecticut
2012 Brittney Griner Baylor
2013 Brittney Griner Baylor
2014 Breanna Stewart Connecticut
“Having watched Breanna win the Naismith Trophy in high school, it’s no surprise that she’s dominating at the college level,” said Eric Oberman, Executive Director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “And equally as impressive is the way she’s contributing to her team’s success – which reinforces her status as the ultimate team player. We are excited to present her with another Naismith Trophy.”

“I am thrilled that Breanna has been selected as the winner of the Naismith Trophy,” said UConn head coach Geno Auriemma. “She worked extremely hard in the offseason to put herself in a position to have a great year and I know being selected for this prestigious honor, among this great group of finalists, is very rewarding for her."

Stewart was chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s national voting academy. Selections were based on individual performances throughout the 2013-14 women’s college basketball season, and the fan vote, which accounted for 25 percent of this year’s total. This is the 10th year fans played a role in the selection process. The vote was tabulated by the accounting, tax and business consulting firm Habif, Arogeti & Wynne, LLP. HA&W is a top 50 US accounting firm and a 2013 "Best of the Best" firm, as named by Inside Public Accounting.

Stewart has averaged 19.4 points, 8.1 rebounds, 3.0 assists and 2.8 blocks per game for the 39-0 Huskies, and she was selected as the American Athletic Conference Player of the Year and was a unanimous pick to the Associated Press and USBWA All-America Teams. Stewart scored her 1,000th career point in her 63rd career game, marking the third-fewest games to reach 1,000 points in UConn history, and she has scored in double-figures 37 times this season and 20+ points on 20 occasions.

Stewart was named the 2014 American Conference Tournament Most Outstanding Player and a member of the 2014 All-American Conference Tournament Team.

First created in 1983, Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan claimed the inaugural award.

“We want to congratulate Breanna for her fantastic season guiding the success of the UConn women’s basketball team,” said Jamie Kerr, Director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. “We’re proud to present the Naismith Trophy to an individual like Breanna, and applaud her for being the best player in women’s college basketball this season.”

Notable Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year winners include Chamique Holdsclaw, Lisa Leslie, Maya Moore and last year’s winner, Brittney Griner.

The Naismith Women’s Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the women’s college basketball player of the year.

For more information, visit

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners