March 24, 2010


INDIANAPOLIS---The eight-team field competing for the 2010 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship was announced today by the NCAA Women's Bowling Committee. The field includes the following teams, all selected at large:

Arkansas State University
University of Central Missouri
Delaware State University
Fairleigh Dickinson University
University of Maryland, Eastern Shore
University of Nebraska, Lincoln
New Jersey City University
Vanderbilt University

Competition begins with qualifying rounds in which each team bowls one five-person regular team game against each of the other seven teams participating in the championship for a total of seven games. Teams will be seeded for bracket play based on their win-loss record during the qualifying rounds. Teams will then compete in best-of-seven-games Baker matches in a double elimination tournament. In the Baker format, each of the five team members, in order, bowls a complete frame until a complete (10-frame) game is bowled. A Baker match tied 3½ games to 3½ games after seven games will be decided using a shootout sudden death roll-off.

During bracket play, the higher seed receives starting lane preference for the first and seventh games of the match and for a tiebreaker.

New Jersey City University will host the championship, which will be held April 8-10 at Brunswick Zone Carolier Lanes in North Brunswick, New Jersey. Tickets can be purchased by calling 201/200-2444 prior to the championship.

The University of Nebraska, Lincoln captured the 2009 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship at Super Bowl Lanes in Canton, Michigan. The Huskers defeated the University of Central Missouri, 4-1, for their third bowling championship.

The championship finals will air live on ESPNU Saturday, April 10, at 8:30 p.m. Eastern time, and a tape delay broadcast of the finals will air on ESPN Sunday, April 11 at 3 p.m. Eastern time.

For more information about the NCAA National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship, log on to