INDIANAPOLIS -- The eight-team field competing for the 2011 National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship was announced Wednesday by the NCAA Women’s Bowling Committee.

The championship field consists of all at-large participants, including Arkansas State, Central Missouri, Fairleigh Dickinson, Kutztown, Maryland-Eastern Shore, Nebraska, Sam Houston State and Vanderbilt. 

Competition begins with qualifying rounds in which each team will bowl one five-person regular team game against each of the other seven teams participating in the championship for a total of seven games. Teams will be seeded for bracket play based on their win-loss record during the qualifying rounds.

Teams will then compete in best-of-seven-games Baker matches in a double-elimination tournament. In the Baker format, each of the five team members, in order, bowls a complete frame until a complete (10-frame) game is bowled. A  Baker match tied 3½ games to 3½ games after seven games will be decided by a tiebreaker using the Modified Baker format. 

Detroit Mercy and the Detroit Metro Sports Commission will play host to the championship, which will be held April 14-16 at Skore Lanes in Taylor, Mich. Tickets can be purchased by calling (313) 291-6220 before to the championship.

Fairleigh Dickinson captured the 2010 National Collegiate Women’s Bowling Championship at Brunswick Zone Carolier Lanes in North Brunswick, N.J. The Knights defeated 2009 national champion Nebraska in the final, needing all seven games in the best-of-seven matchup to edge the Cornhuskers 4-3 and claim their first title since 2006.

A tape delay broadcast of the championship finals will air on ESPN Sunday, April 17 at 2:30 p.m. ET.