INDIANAPOLIS -- The eight-team field competing for the 2012 National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship was announced Wednesday by the NCAA Women’s Bowling Committee. The field includes the following teams, all selected at large:

Arkansas State Central Missouri
Fairleigh Dickinson Maryland-Eastern Shore
Nebraska Sacred Heart
Valparaiso Vanderbilt

Competition begins with qualifying rounds in which each team bowls one five-person regular team game against each of the other seven teams participating in the championship for a total of seven games. Teams will be seeded for bracket play based on their win-loss record during the qualifying rounds. Teams will then compete in best-of-seven-games Baker matches in a double elimination tournament.  In the Baker format, each of the five team members, in order, bowls a complete frame until a complete 10-frame game is bowled. 

A Baker match tied 3½ games to 3½ games after seven games will be decided by a tiebreaker using the Modified Baker format.    

The Mid-American Conference and the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission will host the championship, which will be held April 12-14 at Freeway Lanes in Wickliffe, Ohio.  Tickets can be purchased on prior to the championship.

The University of Maryland, Eastern Shore rebounded from a two-games-to-one deficit to capture the 2011 National Collegiate Women’s Bowling Championship at Skore Lanes in Taylor, Mich. 

This year's championship finals will air on ESPNU at 8 p.m. ET Saturday, April 14. A replay of the championship finals will air on ESPN at 2:30 p.m. ET Sunday, April 15.