South Regional: RecapNovember 3, 2007

Men's Recap

HUNTSVILLE, ALA. - For the fourth straight year, Florida Southern's men's cross country team is headed to the NCAA Division II Championship. Coach Rick Moody's Moccasins, winners of the Sunshine State Conference title two weeks ago, won their first-ever NCAA South Regional title Saturday at Huntsville, Ala. FSC, which went into Saturday's meet as the top-ranked team in the region, placed all five scoring runners in the top 20 and won with 61 points to earn a trip to the Division II Championship Nov. 17 at Joplin, Mo.

Luke Beevor, the SSC men's champion, led the Moccasin contingent with a third-place finish, covering the 10K course in 32:23.2. William Koeppel was 11th in 33:15.8, Ben Martucci was 12th in 33:17.3, Drew Martucci was 17th in 33:46.7 and Lief Thomason was 18th in 33:52.5. Beevor, Koeppel and Ben Martucci were named to the all-region team. Ala.-Huntsville and Tampa tied for second with 103 points each and will join FSC at the national championship. In earning their three previous trips to the championship meet, the Moccasins had finished second in the regional the past two years and third in 2004. The Moccasins' previous finishes at the national meet have been 20th in 2006, 13th in 2005 and 20th in 2004.

FSC's women also will be represented at the Division II championship, as Carolyne Kwambai finished eighth to qualify as an indivdiual and also make the 15-member all-region team. The top three teams in each race and top two individuals not on those three teams were the national qualifiers. Kwambai covered the 6K course in 22:08.4 as the top FSC finisher. Danielle Shimer was 17th in 23:05.6, Kelsey Dunn was 22nd in 23:23.2, Krystal Bemman was 47th in 24:26.5 and Ali Gardino was 54th in 24:31.6.

Tampa won the women's meet with 40 points. Harding was second in the team totals with 55 points and Ala.-Huntsville was third with 79. The Moccasins were fourth with 148 points.

-Courtesy Florida Southern

Women's Recap

HUNTSVILLE, Ala. The University of Tampa mens and womens cross country teams each turned in record-breaking performances as the women won the NCAA II South Regional as men finished second. Both teams earned the right to advance to the NCAA II Championships.

The first-place finish by the women is the second in program history and the first since 2004 as the Spartans finished second in 2004 and 2005. The men, who have never finished higher than fourth, will make the programs first NCAA Finals appearance.

Laura Woznicki led the UT women with a second place finish in the field of 155 runners. She finished with a time of 21:19.0. All five Spartan runners finished in the top 15 as Jessica Forrester was fifth, Paige Williams was seventh, Julia Vola was 12th and Alysha Duffy was 14th. Other Spartans who ran were Dara Fox (27th) and Michelle Gabrielle (37th).

The men were led by Tony Nicolosi, who turned in an eighth place finish with a time of 32:54.9. David Forry finished 14 while Jeremy Lautzenheiser and Chris Catanach finished 23rd and 35th respectively. Matt Hockenjos was 36th while Kevin Lane placed 72nd and Gordon Wright was 93rd.

The Spartans now set their sights on the NCAA Championships on Saturday, November 17 in Joplin, Mo.

-Courtesy Tampa