INDIANAPOLIS, IND. – Indiana State University was named the host for the 2011 NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championships, it was announced today by the NCAA office. This will be the eighth straight year and the ninth championship in the last 10 years that has been held on the LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center.

“The committee appreciated that there were a number of host options on the table, so it created lengthy discussions about each of them for the 2011 NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships,” Todd Patulski, chair of the NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Track and Field Committee and deputy athletic director at Baylor University, said. “In the end, we feel Indiana State provides the best option to host in 2011 and we are excited to take part in another great championship experience in Terre Haute.”

Indiana State hosted the NCAA Championship for the first time in 2002 and was named the host from 2004 thru 2010. The championship was scheduled to be moved to two other sites before returning to Indiana State in 2013.

“I'm thrilled the NCAA has the faith in our organization to return the Championship to ISU and Terre Haute,” John McNichols, Indiana State coordinator of cross country and track & field, said. “This will be the ninth time we have hosted in the past decade which far exceeds any expectations we might have had when we dedicated the LaVern Gibson Championship Course in October of 1997. The success we have enjoyed hosting the Championships is a result of the enthusiastic support of the Terre Haute community. Terre Haute is Cross Country Town USA and this selection validates our claim.”

The University of Louisville has been designated as the site of the 2012 Championship.