SPOKANE, Wash. -- Ryan Haebe took home the individual title with a time of 30:45.1 and Tyler Pennel finished three seconds behind him as Western State won its eighth NCAA Division II national championship and ninth overall with a team score of 35 points at the Plantes Ferry Athletic Complex. 

Its the first national championship for the Mountaineers since 2005. The men won the NAIA championship in 1986, and Division II titles in 1995, 1999-2002 and 2004-05.

Complete championship results
Team results
Individual results

Haebe became the first individual national champion for the Mountaineers since 2001, and only the second student-athlete in Western State history to win a men's cross country national championship. Michael Aish won national titles in 1999 and 2001.

The Mountaineers finished with all five scoring runners in the top 13 of the overall results and top 12 of the scoring runners. After Haebe and Pennel, David Goodman placed fifth in 31:05.1, Gabe Proctor in seventh in 31:11.7 and Trevor Blackman rounded out the scorers by checking in at 13th place with a time of 31:36.8. No other team had more than three runners in the top 20. Western State finished with six All-Americans after Adam Sinda placed No. 30 overall.