AURORA, Ill. -- Wheaton opened its season on Friday at the Aurora University Spartan Classic. The Wheaton men finished third in a 17-team field and the Thunder women were fourth among 13 teams.

Nate Veldt was the top finisher for the Thunder, with a time of 26:45.3 in 14th place. James Waterman finished in 15th with a time of 26:45.4 and Nate Hatton recorded a time of 26:46.2 in 17th place. Brett Haffner was 21st with a time of 26:58.5 and Parker Thompson took 24th place with a time of 27:04.2.

Chicago won the women’s competition with 19 points, Aurora was second with 66 points, Carthage scored 102 points in third place, Wheaton’s women scored 107 points in fourth place and Benedictine University finished fifth with 195 points.

Jordan Tuin was the top performer for the Wheaton women’s program in 15th place with a time of 24:27, just ahead of teammate Annie Shults in 16th place (24:27.) Emma Gilbertson was 22nd in 24:54, Abby Bullmore finished 25th in 25:14 and Sydney Brynn posted a time of 25:53 to finish 29th. 

Chicago won the 8K men’s event with 21 points, North Central finished second with 69 points, Wheaton scored 91 points in third place, Aurora finished fourth with 120 points and Robert Morris-Chicago took fifth with 163 points.