Whitewater, Wis. -- Wisconsin-Platteville won the Warhawk Invitational hosted by UW-Whitewater with seven runners in the top 22 in their first meet of the 2012 season. The Pioneer women placed fourth overall and third among Division III teams.

The victory by the men marks the fourth-consecutive year that the Pioneers have brought home the team title from the season-opening meet in Whitewater. The Pioneers edged WIAC rival, UW-Oshkosh by one point, 45-46 as the Pioneers fourth and fifth runners proved to be the difference.

Ian LeMere, who covered the 8k course in 26:32 had a fourth-place overall finish. John Dewitt of UW-Oshkosh won the race in a time of 26:06 to lead the 129-person field.

LeMere was joined in the top 10 by Pioneer teammates Derek Fahrenkrug (seventh, 26:49) and Matt Kocak (eighth, 26:50). Behind Kocak by six seconds was teammate Joel Walden, who crossed the line in 26:56. Next for the Pioneers was Matt Smaga, who finished 15th in a time of 27:26 and Matt Borneman, who was 22nd in a time of 27:47.

Other UW-Platteville finishers were Chris Czech (27th, 27:54), Jacob James (34th, 28:10), Harrison Miles (38th, 28:23), Jason Henkins (40th, 28:29), Michael Peterson (46th, 28:51), Nick Wagner (49th, 28:56), Evan Morgan (52nd, 29:03), Matt Wubben (54th, 29:06), Joseph Gehrmann (62nd, 29:20), Drake Rooney (83rd, 30:34), Kyle Klein (87th, 30:44), Garret Wernecke (88th, 30:48), Frank Huftalin (100th, 31:35) and Jake Czyz (113th, 33:46).