cross-country-men-d3 flag | November 16, 2014

DIII Men's Cross Country qualifiers

INDIANAPOLIS --The NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Track and Field Committee announced Sunday the team and individual qualifiers for the 2014 NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championships.

In order to be eligible to participate in the championships, teams and individuals must qualify in their respective NCAA regions.

Thirty-two teams were selected to participate in each championship.  The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the eight regions, for a total of 16 teams.  Sixteen additional teams were selected at-large.

Fifty-six individuals, the first seven athletes from each region who are not a part of a qualifying team, were selected to participate in each championship. 

Wilmington College (Ohio) and the Warren County Convention and Visitor’s Bureau are co-hosting the championships, November 22, at the Golf Center at King’s Island in Mason, Ohio.  The men’s race will begin at 11 a.m. Eastern time followed by the women’s race at 12:30 p.m. Eastern time.

The following teams and individuals were selected to the championships:

Men’s Automatic Qualifying Teams

Bridgewater (Virginia)
Carnegie Mellon
Claremont Mudd-Scripps
Mount Union
North Central (Illinois)
St. Lawrence
St. Olaf
SUNY Geneseo
Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Men’s At-large Teams

Central (Iowa)
Johns Hopkins
St. Thomas (Minnesota)
SUNY Cortland
Washington U. in St. Louis
Wisconsin-La Crosse

Men’s Individual Automatic Qualifiers

Atlantic Region

Matt Giannino, Rochester Institute of Technology
Sebastian Oja, New York University
Zakk Hess, Fredonia State
Jacob Andrews, Rensselaer
Benjamin Fazio, Rensselaer
Sawyer Hitchcock, Ithaca
Jonathan Sewnig, Rowan

Central Region

Thomas Feichtinger, St. John’s (Minnesota)
Chase Moser, Wartburg
Ryan Peterson, Hamline
Bennett Moser, Wartburg
Chris Lawson, St. Scholastica
Jovan Newsum, Saint Mary’s (Minnesota)
Thomas Knobbe, Gustavus Adolphus

Great Lakes Region

Geno Arthur, Oberlin
John Sotos, Ohio Wesleyan
Nathan Rosenbaum, Ohio Northern
Ben Zank, Hope
Tadhg Karski, John Carroll
Joshua Urso, Oberlin
Elliot Thorkelson, John Carroll

Mideast Region

Nate Noll, DeSales
Logan Steiner, Allegheny
Dillon Farrell, Moravian
Alex Price, Susquehanna
Jaryd Flank, Muhlenberg
Dan Gresh, Elizabethtown
Sid Kakkar, Swarthmore

Midwest Region

Jordan Carpenter, Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Ian LaMere, Wisconsin-Platteville
Joel Walden, Wisconsin-Platteville
Will Cross, Elmhurst
Nate Richards, Principia
Michael Frasco, Chicago
Dawson Miller, Wisconsin-Whitewater

New England, Region

Tyler Scheibenpflug, Lyndon State
John Stansel, Bates
Lee Cattanach, Eastern Connecticut State
Tim McGowan, Roger Williams
Avery Wentworth, Bowdoin
Andrew Sukeforth, Bridgewater State
Kevin Hoose, Bowdoin

South/Southeast Region

Ryan Gehman, Eastern Mennonite
Harrison Toney, Roanoke
Victor Pataky, Centre
Alex Noe, Rhodes
Levi Warring, Washington and Lee
Christopher Roberts, Birmingham-Southern
Jacob Landis, Eastern Mennonite

West Region

John Guzman, Occidental
Colin Smith, Occidental
David Santillan, Puget Sound
Yonny Castillo, Willamette
Aditya Bhagavathi, Caltech
Ruben Solorza, Whittier
Bryan Hayes, La Verne

In 2013, St. Olaf won the men’s team championship, marking its first national title. They finished with 84 points, defeating defending champion North Central (Illinois), which finished with 86 points.  

Individual honors went to Michael LeDuc of Connecticut College. LeDuc finished 4 seconds ahead of John Crain of North Central (Illinois). 

For more information regarding the championships, log on to


Amherst 5 2009 12th --
Bridgewater (Va.) 2 2013 31st --
Calvin 30 2013 1st 4 (2000, 2003-04, 2006)
Carleton 19 2013 1st 1 (1980)
Carnegie Mellon 20 2012 6th --
Central (Iowa) 6 2013 6th --
Claremont-M-S 13 2013 11th --
Colby 2 2013 22nd --
Dickinson 8 2013 5th --
Emory 18 2013 12th --
Haverford 32 2013 1st 1st (2010)
Johns Hopkins 5 2013 11th --
Loras 4 2013 15th --
Middlebury 5 2013 7th --
MIT 15 2013 7th --
Mount Union 20 2009 1st 1 (1974)
North Central (Ill.) 42 2013 1st 15 (1975-75, 1978-79, 1981-82, 1987,
1992-93, 1997-99, 2009, 2011-12)
Pomona-Pitzer 11 2013 10th --
Rose-Hulman 2 1974 18th --
St. Lawrence 18 2013 3rd --
St. Olaf 14 2013 1st 1 (2013)
St. Thomas (Minn.) 25 2009 1st 2 (1984, 1986)
SUNY Cortland 16 2013 1st 1 (2008)
SUNY Geneseo 12 2013 4th --
Tufts 13 2013 5th --
Wabash 15 2013 3rd --
Washington (Mo.) 10 2013 3rd --
Widener First -- -- --
Williams 23 2013 1st 2 (1994-95)
Wisconsin-Eau Claire 6 2013 9th --
Wisconsin-La Crosse 30 2013 1st 3 (1996, 2001, 2005)
Wisconsin-Stout 2 1981 10th --
* -- Includes 2014.