cross-country-men-d2 flag

Adams State Athletics | December 7, 2014

National Champions

Adams State wins the 2014 DII Men's Cross Country Championship

LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- Adams State reinforced its winning tradition Saturday, running to its 11th NCAA Division II National Championship and 23rd overall national title.

The Grizzlies paced the field with 69 points and a team time of 2:34:00.30 for its third consecutive national title; adding to its run of six titles in the past seven years. Grand Valley State came in second with a team time of 2:36:29.00 and 127 points.

"They really performed unbelievebly well. They definietly brought their 'A' game," said Adams State coach Damon Martin of his team's performance. "From top to bottom the entire team gave everything they had."

Three ASU runners finished in the top five led by Tabor Stevens, who captured his second consecutive individual title with a time of 30:02. He ends his collegiate career as the second-most sucessful runner in NCAA Division II history. Stevens finished 11th, 3rd, 1st, and 1st in the past for national championship races.

"You can always count on Tabor. He stuck to his plan today of hanging with the guys before taking off to finish strong." Martin added.

During the championship race, Stevens made his biggest move at the four mile mark, advancing past four runners into third place. He then took the top spot and cruised to the finish. It was a season marked by dominance as Stevens also ran to a Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference title and finish second at the South Central Regional Championship. He was recently named the USTFCCCA South Central Region runner of the year.

Kevin Batt, Matt Daniels, and Chad Palmer also helped secure the title for ASU. Batt and Daniels finished fourth and fifth, respectively, while Palmer crossed the finish line at 18th.

Saturday's championship marked Martin's eighth as head coach for the program.

Pittsburg State men, Adams State women win 2023 DII indoor track and field championships

The Pittsburg State men and the Adams State women are DII indoor track and field champions once again.