cross-country-men-d3 flag

Wis.-Eau Claire Athletics | November 21, 2015

Wis.-Eau Claire wins first ever cross country national championship

2015 DIII Men's & Women's Cross Country Championship: Recap

WINNECONNE, Wis. – The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire men's cross country team earned the program's first NCAA Division III National Title Saturday, with junior Josh Thorson placing second to lead the Blugolds.

Thorson clocked in at 24:15.00 to secure second place with Ryan Mugan (Sr.-Howards Grove, WI) and Darin Lau (Eau Claire, WI/Immanuel Lutheran) close behind, finishing in 24:35.40 and 24.41.70 for ninth and 12th place, respectively.

Full cross country championship results

The Blugolds finished with a team score of 135 while Williams College (Mass.) came in second with 144.

University of Wisconsin-Platteville's Ian LaMere was the overall champion, finishing with a time of 23:35.40.

2019 DIII NCAA track and field championships: Loras women, Wisconsin-Eau Claire men win 2019 national titles

Loras and Wisconsin- Eau Claire win the 2019 DIII women's and men's NCAA titles.

Women's hockey: Courtney Wittig becomes first DIII player taken in NWHL Draft

UW-Eau Claire women's hockey's Courtney Wittig becomes first DIII player taken in NWHL Draft.

College hockey: Names and faces change, but expectations stay the same at UW-Eau Claire

They have no returning All-WIAC players, yet the UW-Eau Claire men's hockey team, by now one of the most consistent programs in the country, isn't expected to miss a beat.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners