cross-country-men-d3 flag | November 12, 2017

2017 Division III Men's and Women's Cross Country Championships qualifiers

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Track and Field and Cross Country Committee announced today the team and individual qualifiers for the 2017 NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championships.

In order to be eligible to participate in the championships, teams and individuals must qualify in their respective NCAA regions.

Thirty-two teams were selected to participate in each championship. The top two, sevenperson teams automatically qualified from each of the eight regions, for a total of 16 teams. Sixteen additional teams were selected at-large.

Fifty-six individuals, the first seven student-athletes from each region who are not a part of a qualifying team, were selected to participate in each championship. Principia College is hosting the championships Nov. 18 at the North Farm Facility in Elsah, Illinois. The men’s race will begin at 12 p.m. Eastern time followed by the women’s race at 1:15 p.m. Eastern time.

In 2016, North Central (Illinois) won the men’s championship, marking its 17th national title. They finished with 60 points, defeating SUNY Geneseo, who finished with 204 points.

On the women’s side, Johns Hopkins defeated Washington U. in St. Louis to win its fourth national championship. Johns Hopkins totaled 128 points to Washington U. in St. Louis’ 202.

Individual honors went to Amy Regan of Stevens Institute of Technology, who won the individual title, finishing 15 seconds ahead of Loras’ Audrey Miller. In the men’s championship, individual honors went to Ian LaMere of Wisconsin-Platteville, who finished almost 30 seconds ahead of Widener’s Ernie Pitone.

NCAA cross country fans can watch the live stream of the NCAA Division III Cross Country Championships as FloTrack Pro subscribers for a monthly price of $19.99 or an annual price of $150. The subscription will include access to all FloTrack live broadcasts, video ondemand from all events, documentaries, technique videos and more. Coverage of the championships will be available starting at 12 p.m. Eastern time until the conclusion of the awards ceremony, Saturday, Nov. 18, and can be accessed at 

The following teams and individuals were selected to the championships: 

Men's Automatic Qualifying Teams

Carnegie Mellon
Christopher Newport
North Central (Illinois)
SUNY Geneseo
UC Santa Cruz
Wisconsin-La Crosse

Men's At-Large Teams

Claremont-Mudd Scripps
Johns Hopkins
Nebraska Wesleyan
New York University
Ohio Northern
Rochester Institute of Technology
Washington-St. Louis
Wisconsin-Eau Claire
York (Pennsylvania)

Women's Automatic Qualifying Teams

Johns Hopkins
Nebraska Wesleyan
SUNY Geneseo
Trinity (Texas)
Washington-St. Louis
Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Women's At-Large Teams

Carnegie Mellon
St. Olaf
St. Lawrence
St. Thomas (Minnesota)
Wheaton (Illinois)
Wisconsin-La Crosse


Men's Individual Automatic Qualifiers

Atlantic Region

Name  School
Matthew Saponara TCNJ
Michael Scarlett Vassar
Devin Akerley SUNY Oneonta
Matt Tuohy Ramapo
Colin Greenseich Oswego State
Jeremy Hernandez Ramapo
Quinn Wasko TCNJ
Central Region
Name School
Mark Fairley Central (Iowa)
Keith Ketola St. Olaf
Tanner Rathje Central (Iowa)
Mason Wicker Cornell College
Cuyler Gabriel Cornell College
Ian McKenzie Simpson
Austin Bach Cornell College
Great Lakes Region
Name School
Dominic Patacsil Wabash
Sam Merriman Case Western Reserve
Andrew Bill Albion
Matt Andrews John Carroll
Blake Harris Manchester
John Hughes Allegheny
Matt Svetz Allegheny
Mideast Region
Name School
Harley Moyer Washington and Jefferson
Franklin Livolsi Widener
Benjamin Schott Messiah
Corey Mullins Muhlenberg
Patrick Watson Stevenson
David Haines Marywood
Langston Gash Stevenson
Midwest Region
Name School
Zach Lee Wisconsin-Platteville
Walker Rynes Wisconsin-Platteville
Zach Matthiesen Principia
Josh Janusiak Lawrence
Shane Witters Hicks Principia
Brett Harms Wisconsin-Whitewater
Nate Richards Principia
New England Region
Name School
Sam Brunnette Plymouth State
Scott Mason Connecticut College
Ryan Stender Brandeis
Ben Torda Bowdoin
Damon Kilgore Gordon
Alex Robbins Wentworth
Grandon Smith Castleton
South/Southeast Region
Name School
Logan McKenzie Berea
Robert Hiegel Bridgewater (Virginia)
Jeff Gibson Mary Washington
Nathan Riggs Centre
Hank Patrick Washington and Lee
MacKenzye Leroy Washington and Lee
Cooper Baird Washington and Lee
West Region
Name School
Brad Hodkinson Pacific Lutheran
Julian Sandoval Whittier
Eli Fournier Whitman
Keith Carlson Willamette
Timothy Kahovec Cal Lutheran
Michael Montague Willamette
Joseph Esparza Redlands




Women's Individual Automatic Qualifiers

Atlantic Region

Name School
Alicia Belko Stockton
Megan Reilly SUNY New Paltz
Sabrina Herrmann New York University
Hanna Jerome Hamilton
Rachel Bargabos Rochester (New York)
Grace Heller Hamilton
Hannah Haley New York University
Central Region
Name School
Casey Hovland St. Scholastica
MariKate Murphy Cornell College
Annika Halverson Bethel (Minnesota)
Anna Hage Bethel (Minnesota)
Sadie Novak-Klug Gustavus Adolphus
Kenzie Carney Luther
Holly McKinney Central (Iowa)
Great Lakes Region
Name School
Linnea Halsten Oberlin
Emily Richards Ohio Northern
Rachel House Heidelberg
Hilary Reigle Mount Union
Erin Kiley John Carroll
Marija Crook Oberlin
Allison Snyder Albion
Mideast Region
Name School
Veronica Wheeler DeSales
Savanna Carr Penn State-Behrend
Clare Schoen Misericordia
Elizabeth Hilfrank Gettysburg
Beth Dauer DeSales
Sarah Rinehart Gettysburg
Abby Corrigan Scranton
Midwest Region
Name School
Cheyenne Moore Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Abigail Fouts Wisconsin-River Falls
Johanna Meister Wisconsin-Platteville
Katie Wardinski Wisconsin-Platteville
Bailey Wolf Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Emma Roberts Benedictine (Illinois)
Taylor Domro St. Norbert
New England Region
Name School
Kaitlyn Mooney Coast Guard
Nicky Roberts Amherst
Katherine Cook Bates
Emily Bryson Brandeis
Caitlin Lawlor Colby
Jess Cardin Westfield State
Abby Shafer New England College
South/Southeast Region
Name School
Annie Rodenfels Centre
Alainna Chretien Berry
Ashley Litoff Rhodes
Marissa Coombs Virginia Wesleyan
Lindsey Rayborn Texas-Dallas
Courtney Gibson Centre
Abby Carroll Berry
West Region
Name School
Lauren Hamilton Pomona-Pitzer
Maria Ramirez Redlands
Julissa Tobias Whittier
Hannah Swanson Willamette
Courtney Beard Linfield
Kaelia Neal Linfield
Helen Guo Pomona-Pitzer

Ranking the top college cross country performances after one month

We're just one month into the DI cross country season and we've already seen some of the nation's best runners put on a show. Let's rank the top performances so far, for both the men and women.

2023 NCAA DI cross country regionals: Schedule, locations, selections info

Here's everything you need to know for the 2023 DI cross country regionals.

Cross country runners, teams and invitationals to know in 2023

Before the 2023 cross country season begins in September, here's a primer for everything you need to know this season including top runners, storylines and invitationals.