In Case You Missed It

In Case You Missed It

Don't miss it

cross-country-men-d1 flag | September 28, 2013

Roundup: Fourth-ranked BYU continues to win

No. 4 BYU at Griak Invitational

MINNEAPOLIS -- Tylor Thatcher used late surge and won by a half step to take first overall, leading No. 4 BYU to victory at the Griak Invitational on Saturday at Minnesota.

The Cougars ended with 62 points to beat second-place Colorado State, who scored 74 points. Thatcher finished the 8k course in 24:26. Jason Witt was the next Cougar to finish, taking seventh place with a 24:34 time. Aaron Fletcher finished in 24:46 and Thomas Gruenewald in 24:47 for 15th and 17th place, respectively.

BYU has won all three of the races it has participated in this year and this was Thatcher’s second consecutive individual victory.

No. 29 Arizona State took third place with 139 points. Oklahoma finished with 152 points to round out the top five.

More results from the weekend:

No. 1 Oklahoma State and No. 2 Northern Arizona at Cowboy Jamboree

STILLWATER, Okla. -- Oklahoma State won its fourth consecutive Cowboy Jamboree team championships, at the OSU Cross Country Course, on Saturday.

Inclement weather played a part, as lightning in the area delayed the start of the races for two and a half hours, but OSU was still able to put together a great performance.

It was a huge matchup between the No. 1 Cowboys and No. 2 Northern Arizona, and OSU ran like the top-ranked team, winning by 28 points against Northern Arizona, 29-57. The Cowboys landed five runners in the top-12 spots, with Kirubel Erassa (24:28.16) and Shadrack Kipchirchir (24:28.55) leading the way, taking second and third, respectively.

Northern Arizona'a Futsum Zienasellassie (24:30.67) and Brian Shrader (24:32.53) were right behind the top-three finishers placing both fourth and fifth.

“We were running against a very good team,” OSU coach Dave Smith said. “I’m always anxious to run against a team like that. You want to win, especially on your home course, so I think we were ready to run hard. I wish we could have had more guys in contact with Northern Arizona’s top two, which is what we’ll need to do to win in November. We have a lot to work on, but a good day overall.”

Kennedy Kithuka from Texas Tech was the overall winner of the meet with a time of 23:55.27.

Overall, the OSU men have now won the Jamboree 19 times, 13 of which have occurred since 1957, when the current race format was implemented. 

No. 3 Colorado at Rocky Moutain Classic

BOULDER, Colo. -- Third-ranked Colorado performed very well on Saturday, winning the 28th Annual Rocky Mountain Shootout team title despite less than perfect course conditions due to rain all day on Friday.  

No. 3 CU recorded a perfect team score (15), Air Force placed second (45).

Blake Theroux led the men with a finish of 25:34 to earn his first Rocky Mountain Shootout individual title on the eight-kilometer course. He was pushed quite hard the entire race by freshman teammate Ben Saarel, who crossed the finish second overall in 25:35. Saarel ran the meet unattached, but nonetheless it was a great run.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners