In Case You Missed It

In Case You Missed It

Don't miss it

cross-country-men-d3 flag | September 29, 2013

Roundup: Wisc.-Eau Claire takes Roy Griak

No. T2 Wisconsin-La Crosse at Roy Griak Invitational

MINNEAPOLIS -- Wisconsin-La Crosse placed second at the Roy Griak Invitational on Saturday afternoon at Les Bolstad Golf Course. The Eagles competed in the Maroon Division II race. UW-L finished with 102 team points while Augustana College (S.D.) took first with 53.

UW-L's David Stilin placed 10th overall with a time of 25:45.7 on the 8,000-meter course. Josh Dedering was 15th with a time of 25:55.0.  Other finishers in the top-50 for the Eagles included Tom Linner 27th (26:12.6), Alex Ciesielski 31st (26:14.8), Jacob Peterson 32nd (26:16.1) and Tyler Heinz 41st (26:24.4).

"David [Stilin] and Josh [Dedering] demonstrated they have All-America potential," UW-L head coach Derek Stanley said. "Tom [Linner] stepped up his game today and showed value as our third runner."

No. 5 Bowdoin at the Bowdoin Invitational

BRUNSWICK, Maine -- Bowdoin took first on Saturday afternoon at the Bowdoin Invitational. The Polar Bears totaled 27 team points to easily win the 10-team field, followed in second place by Tufts (59).

Bowdoin finished with five runners in the top-nine teams to spur the squad to victory. Nicholas Saba was the top Polar Bear, taking second in 26:00.23 while James Boeding was right behind him in third spot with a time of 26:08.47. Kevin Hoose (5th, 26:24.13), Will Ossoff (8th, 26:34.99) and Avery Wentworth (26:39.99) rounded out the Bowdoin scorers.

No. 6 Calvin at the MIAA Jamboree

ADRIAN, Mich. -- Calvin raced to a first-place finish at the MIAA Jamboree hosted by Adrian on Saturday at the Lenawee Christian High School cross country course.

On the men’s side, Zac Nowicki moved past Albion’s Paul Lewis with 100 meters to go and sprinted home for the victory in 26:06. He was one of five Calvin runners to place in the top 12.

Calvin’s second finisher was junior Jacob Kuyvenhoven in fifth. He was followed by freshman Nathan VanHaitsma in ninth, senior Sam Kerk in 11th and junior Josh Ferguson in 12th.

“Our men did what they had to do today,” Calvin head cross country coach Brian Diemer said. “For Zac Nowicki to run the race that he did and have the moxie to pull ahead at the end shows the type of talent and character he has. That was impressive. We have a young team sprinkled in with a few veterans and a few of our veterans have been banged up. As the upperclassmen get healthier, our depth will improve and that should help us in future races.”

No. 7 Bates, No. 9 Wisconsin-Eau Claire at Roy Griak Invitational

ALCON HEIGHTS, Minn. -- For the first time, Wisconsin-Eau Claire won the prestigious Roy Griak Invitational, hosted by Minnesota at Les Bolstad Golf Course on Saturday. The Blugolds, whose previous best finish was second place in 2010, won the event with 69 points.

Seniors Mike Martin and Tully Hannan placed third and fifth overall, respectively, to lead Bates to a third-place finish out of 26 teams.

Ryan Mugan led the Blugolds as he took sixth place on the 8,000-meter course out of 296 runners. He finished the event with a time of 26:09.3.

The other runners who scored for Eau Claire all finished in the top 18. Christian Leitner came in next for Eau Claire, taking 13th with a time of 26:18.9. Matt Scott was 15th with a time of 26:20.6.

Erik Rosvold and Matt Wenaas finished one right after the other. Rosvold took 17th with a time of 26:22.8 and Wenaas was 18th with a time of 26:22.9

Bates' Martin finished in 26:03.8, the third-fastest among 296 competitors. Only Matt Berens of Bethel and John Guzman of Occidental crossed the finish line before Bates' tri-captain.

Hannan was right behind in 26:05.5, good for fifth place overall. Junior John Stansel also placed among the top 20 in 19th place at 26:25.6, while senior Noah Graboys ranked 22nd at 26:42.9.

Sophomore Gregg Heller completed Bates' scoring in 34th place at 27:12.9. First-year Jack Dailey and junior Christian Sampson were 45th and 46th, respectively, in 27:36.7 and 27:37.4 as the Bobcats' displacers.

No. 8 Williams at the Purple Valley Classic

WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass. -- On Saturday, Williams hosted and took second at the Purple Valley Classic in bright, sunny weather at Mt. Greylock Regional High School.

The day began with the 5,000-meter race, in which Williams entered all of its competing freshmen. The result was very strong, as Williams freshmen swept the top-5 among scoring runners. David Folsom edged unattached runner Ryan O'Connell for the top spot in 16:29.3.

With about two miles to go in the 8,000-meter race, Williams junior Colin Cotton and senior captain Chris Lee began to pull ahead of the field. The two Williams runners would maintain the gap, with Cotton extending his lead and taking the victory in 25:56.8. Lee was second across the line in 26:09.2, and sophomore Bijan Mazaheri was third for Williams, finishing 8th overall in 26:28.3.

No. 10 Dickinson at Dickinson Invitational

NEWVILLE, Pa. -- The Dickinson men's cross country team captured the team title at its own Long/Short Invitational on Saturday. The Red Devils placed second in each race, recording a pair of strong scores, posting 16 points in the short race and 17 in the long.

NYU ran to the long course (8K) title with a score of six (6) as only the top three runners score in each race. NYU claimed the top three scoring spots with Dickinson alum Nick Karwoski, crossing the line second in 25:51.

Greg Clark placed fourth with a time of 26:07. The Devils had four runners in the top ten as Nick Stender, Alex Strenta and Mark Weinhoffer crossed the line sixth-seventh and eighth, respectively, with times of 26:15, 26:24 and 26:27. Peter Sisson placed 18th, finishing in 27:03.

Division II Shippensburg had runners finish first and third en route to the short course (4k) team title. Senior Ryan Steinbock finished just three seconds back to placed second with a time of 12:08. Robbie Sansevere clocked a time of 12:20 to place fifth while Henry Mynatt was ninth with a time of 12:30.

First-year Joey Steadman came in 15th (12:42), followed by senior Jonathan Jackson at 19th with at time of 12:53.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners