In Case You Missed It

In Case You Missed It

Don't miss it

cross-country-men-d3 flag | November 2, 2013

Conference Results:
Cardinal's 40-year win streak

Division III Men's Cross Country, North Central (Ill.)

CCIW Championships

WARRENVILLE, Ill. -- Top-ranked North Central (Ill.) succeeded in earning its 40th CCIW title. This is the longest win streak in the NCAA by a men's or women's team.

The Cardinals earned a perfect score of 15 in the meet. Wheaton (Ill.) placed second with 67 points and Augustana (Ill.) placed third with 76 points.

North Central's runners placed one through seven in the race. John Crain led the team followed by Roger Klein, Aron Sebhat, Timothy Hird, Ben Dickshinski, Ryan Root and Mitchell Gilbert.

UAA Championships

PITTSBURGH -- Washington (Mo.) won the race with 26 points. New York University finished in second place with 49 points.

Andrew Padgett led the Bears with the individual win. He was closely followed by teammate Kevin Sparks who placed second overall. Michael Ellenberger placed fifth overall and Garrett Patrick took sixth.

Dylan Karten was again NYU's top finisher. He placed third overall with a time of 25:24.6 over the hilly, 8k course.

MIAC Championships

ST. PAUL, Minn. -- Third-ranked St. Olaf won its second consecutive MIAC title, as the Oles took the top three and had all five scorers in the top eight, paced by individual champion Grant Wintheiser on Saturday at Como Park.

The individual title was the second in a row for Winthieser, as the St. Olaf junior finished in 24:48.9. Junior Jake Brown was the runner-up in 24:54.4 while senior Brian Saksa was third in 25:11.8.

Jake Campbell was sixth overall with a time of 25:41 and Phillip Meyer was eighth in 25:45.5.

More impressive, St. Olaf had a non-scorer take All-MIAC honors and two others inside the top 21. Dillon Davis took All-MIAC honors at 10th in 25:53. Paul Escher was 16th (26:02) and Stefan Lemke was (26:23.2) 21st.

NESCAC Championships

WATERFORD, Conn. -- Sixth-ranked Williams took the team title at the NESCAC Championships and fourth-ranked Middlebury coming in second. Tufts trailed at third.

Williams placed three runners in the top led by Colin Cotton who placed second with a time of 24:43. He was trailed by teammates Chris Lee in fifth and Bijan Mazaheri in ninth.

Middlebury was led by Greg Krathwohl who placed fourth with a time of 24:52.

The individual winner for the race came from Connecticut College. Michael Leduc placed first with a time of 24:36.

WIAC Championships

RIVER FALLS, Wis. -- Wisconsin-La Crosse won the WIAC on Saturday behind three top-10 finishers. Leading the way was Alex Ciesielski in eighth. Josh Dedering and Garrett Kerska rounded out the top 10.

Wisconsin-Eau Claire placed second in the race with two runners in the top-10. Ryan Mugan led the way with a fifth-place finish.

Tenth-ranked Wisconsin-Oshkosh placed third overall with 66 points.

CC Championships

WESTMINSTER, Md. -- For the fourth year in a row, Dickinson finished second at the Centennial Conference Championships.Although, this year it was Johns Hopkins who captured the team title with a score of 34, holding off Dickinson with 39.

Placing a distant third with 61 points was defending champion Haverford.

Seniors Henry Mynatt and Ryan Steinbock placed themselves in contention for the individual laurels right from the gun. Mynatt took over pacing duties from eventual winner, Chris Stadler of Haverford, for the middle portion of the race. Meanwhile Steinbock hung back in the lead pack with Avi Bregman of Haverford and Max Robinson of Johns Hopkins.

These five separated early from the field, and at four miles teammates Stadler and Bregman attempted to break the race open. Stadler held on to win in a time of 25:42, but the move was too much for Bregman, who faded to 6th, falling victim to the finishing kick of Hopkins' Schaffer Ochstein.

IIAC Championships

PELLA, Iowa --  It took 49 years for Central (Iowa) to claim its first Iowa Conference title. But the No. 9 Dutch only needed 12 months to capture another as Austin O’Brien led a one-two-three individual finish on Central’s home course on Saturday.

O’Brien was Central’s No. 4 runner at last year’s conference meet, placing ninth overall, but came from behind to outduel last year’s league champ, Eli Horton, to take the individual title with a personal-best time of 24:46.8 on the 8,000-meter A.N. Kuyper Athletics Complex course. That eclipsed his previous best by nearly 15 seconds.

Sophomore Cole Decker was third at 25:12.5, just four seconds shy of his fastest time.

Loras placed second and Luther took third.