NCAA I Championship: RecapNovember 19, 2007


TERRE HAUTE, Ind. For the fourth-straight year and for the fifth out of the last six races, the NCAA Division I Mens and Womens Cross Country National Championships invaded Terre Haute, Ind., and took over the LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course located at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center on Monday afternoon. The event, which was televised nationally on CSTV for the first time in history, lived up to its billing as both the mens and womens races were extremely competitive and gave the thousands of fans in attendance an exciting show.

The mens 10k race was first on the schedule and it started the day off in climatic fashion. The lead packed stayed close through the 5k split before Josh McDougal of Liberty and Galen Rupp of Oregon broke away from the group. The two then battled for the lead throughout the rest of the race and were neck-and-neck coming down the final straightaway to the finish line. It was McDougal, though, who had enough in his tank at the end and made a final push to win the race with a time of 29:22.4 to become the NCAA champion. Rupp trailed by just a second in second place with a time of 29:23.4 while Northern Arizonas Lopez Lomong came in third at 29:45.5. Villanovas Bobby Curtis (29:46.3) and Colorados Brent Vaughn (29:47.4) rounded out the top five individuals in fourth and fifth places, respectively.

When team scoring was adjusted, it was Oregon who came out on top thanks to Rupps strong finish. The Ducks finished with 85 team points, just 28 points ahead of second place Iona with 113 points. Oklahoma State, led by junior Ryan Vails eighth place finish, placed third with 180 points just 10 points ahead of the fourth-place Northern Arizona Lumberjacks. Wisconsin rounded out the top five teams with a team score of 239 points.


Following the exciting mens finish, the women took to the course for the 6k championship race. Just 364 days removed from her last NCAA individual title in cross country, Texas Techs Sally Kipyego dominated the race and took home her second-straight NCAA title with a time of 19:30.9, a new course record. She became the first back-to-back winner since North Carolinas Shalane Flanagan won consecutive titles in 2002 and 2003. She was followed in second place by Colorados Jenny Barringer at 19:47.8 and in third place by Susan Kuijken of Florida State at 19:57.3. Iowas Diane Nakuri (20:07.0) and Michigan States Nicole Bush (20:13.4) rounded out the top five in fourth and fifth place.

On the team side, it was the Stanford who took home the team title for the third-consecutive year and four the fourth time in the last five years. The Cardinal finished with 145 team points ahead of second-place Oregon with 177 points. Florida State ran to a third-place finish, thanks to the strong outing from Kuijken, with 236 points, just 15 points ahead of Arizona State in fourth place. Michigan State rounded out the top five with a team score of 321.

For fans who didnt get a chance to see the race live, it will be replayed at 11 p.m. ET on CSTV.

--Courtesy Indiana State