Nov. 14, 2009


Courtesy of Pomona-Pitzer

Pomona-Pitzer senior Alicia Freese and Whitworth’s women’s squad won individual and team titles Saturday, November 14 in the 2009 Division III West Regional Cross Country meet hosted by Pomona-Pitzer on its campus course in Claremont, California, while Colorado College sophomore Jackson Brainerd and Claremont-Mudd-Scripps’s men’s squad won the men’s individual and team titles.

The top two teams from each of the eight regions automatically qualify to the National meet, with at-large berths being doled by the NCAA a day later on Sunday. The top seven individuals not on qualifying team also advance to Nationals.

On a cool, clear crisp morning on Pomona College’s campus, Freese—running on her home campus—clocked 22:07 over the 6000 meter (3.7 mile) course after pulling away from Claremont-M-S’s Jennifer Tave and Whitworth’s Dana Misterek in the final half mile.

Whitworth’s top five women placed 3-6-8-12-20 to score 49 points in winning the regional team title. Whitman (11-15-18-31-33) scored 108 to finish second. Claremont-M-S took third and Pomona-Pitzer was fourth.

In the men’s race, Brainerd waited patiently in the front pack before unleashing a strong finish to pass Occidental’s Eric Kleinsasser just before the line, with both runners finishing the looping 8000 meter (5 mile) course in 25:26.

CMS men placed 3-5-8-13-21 to score 50 points in finishing ahead of runner-up Willamette, which ran 4-7-12-19-22 for 64 points. Colorado College took third and Whitworth was fourth.

Women’s Teams automatically qualifying to the National meet: Whitworth and Whitman. Women’s Individuals Qualifying to Nationals: Alicia Freese (Pomona-Pitzer), Jennifer Tave (CMS), Marci Klimek (Linfield), Michele Callaway (Whittier), Mikayla Murphy (UC Santa Cruz), Tina Patel (Willamette), and Hayley Walker (Puget Sound).

Men’s Teams automatically qualifying to the National Meet: Claremont-Mudd-Scripps and Willamette. Men’s Individuals Qualifying to Nationals: Jackson Brainerd (Colorado College), Eric Kleinsasser (Occidental), Francis Reynolds (Puget Sound), Shawn Fisher (Linfield), Ray Ostrander (Cal Lutheran), Aaron Jenkins (Whitworth), and Nicholas Gallagher (Whitworth).