AMHERST, Mass. -- No. 1 Amherst won the NESCAC title Saturday with a total of 34 points and Chiara Del Piccolo won the individual title. This was the Ephs' first outright win since 2005 and their twelfth title overall. They moved up in the pack throughout the race to beat out runner-up Middlebury (42 points).

Conference Team Champion Individual Champion
MIAA Hope Joid Hoekstra
SCIAC Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Anne Lydens
SUNYAC SUNY Geneseo Stefanie Braun
UAA Washington-St. Louis Erica Jackey
WIAC Wisconsin-Eau Claire Christy Cazzola
• More Conference Championships

From the start, Keri Lambert of Amherst led the race, but then was overtaken by Chiara Del Piccolo midway through the race. Del Piccolo stayed strong through the second half and finished in 21:58, 29 seconds before second place Lambert. Finishing next for Williams was Olivia Delia '11, who moved up nicely throughout the race and had a strong final kick for fourth place. Close behind Delia in seventh place was Anna Spiers '15, who was the top finishing first-year in the meet. Shayna Barbash finished just one second behind Spiers in a time of 23:06 for eighth place. This strong group put four Ephs in the top ten finishers.

Celeste Berg, Lauren Goldstein-Kral and Alison Smith rounded out the top seven. They finished in 13th, 15th, and 17th place respectively. The rest of the Williams pack looked strong as well, with Brianne Mirecki finishing in 20th, Eirann Cohen in 23th, Molly Malinowski in 28th, Amelia Ortiz in 40th, and Natalie Davis in 54th.

Del Piccolo, Delia, and Spiers were named first team All-NESCAC, as they all finished in the top seven. Barbash and Berg finished in the second seven and so were named second team All-NESCAC.