SANTA CLARITA, Calif. -- Oregon won the Pac-12 Cross Country Championships at the Robinson Ranch Golf Course on Saturday.

The race was close from start to finish. The top five runners crossed the finish line within 10 seconds of each other with Stanford’s Kathy Kroeger taking top honors for the first time in her career, running in a time of 20:06. Kroeger had finished second in 2010 and 2011.

The Ducks claimed their first team title since 1995. All-American senior Jordan Hasay was the team’s top finisher, coming in second place just four seconds behind the winner. Hasay was the 2010 league individual champion. Oregon scored 47 points on the strength of three top-five finishers.

Arizona scored 69 points to finish second. Elvin Kibet and Jennifer Bergman placed third and seventh, respectively, to lead the team. Stanford was third, tallying 82 points. In addition to Kroeger, Aisling Cuffe placed 10th to help the Cardinal.

Washington scored 92 points to place fourth in the team standings, followed by Colorado (124) in fifth and UCLA in sixth (172). Utah scored an even 200 points for seventh place, improving one spot from last year when the Utes competed in their first Pac-12 Championship. California was eighth with 209 points, edging Arizona State, who scored 210 points for ninth place. USC placed 10th with 295 points, Oregon State was 11th with 305 points, and Washington State rounded out the field with 308 points.

Other notable individual finishers were Utah’s Amanda Mergaert, who cross the finish line in sixth place, while ASU’s Shelby Houlihan, last year’s Pac-12 Newcomer of the Year, was eighth among all placers. Cal sophomore Kelsey Santisteban came in ninth place.