cross-country-women-d3 flag | September 22, 2013

Top three

No. 1 Johns Hopkins

Johns Hopkins returns to competition this fall with a stroke of confidence only one team in the nation can boast. As the reigning NCAA Champions and only women's program in Hopkins history to bring home a national title, the squad has set the bar high in 2013 to continue the same level of success.

Sophomore All-American Hannah Oneda is back for the Blue Jays after a sensational freshman season. Oneda was the team's top runner on the National Championship squad (10th), the Mideast Region Athlete of the Year, the Centennial Conference Runner of the Year and Centennial Rookie of the Year.

Senior Annie Monagle returns for her final year at Hopkins after earning USTFCCC All-America, All-Mideast Region and First-Team All-Centennial Conference honors in 2012. She was the top finisher at the team's preseason time trial.

Hopkins will travel to the Penn State Invitational on Sept.13 to partake in Division I competition.

No. 2 Wartburg

Wartburg returns all top five runners after their national runner-up finish in 2012.

Top returner, junior Alana Enabnit was the seventh finisher behind six seniors. Enabnit is looking to make a great comeback after overcoming injuries from last year's track season.

Senior Sammi Bruett, who placed 14th at nationals, will also be returning.

The Knights boast a strong top seven from 2012 that includes juniors Erin Sawyers, Morgan Gerdes, Serena Goetzl and sophomore Maddi Kleve.

Winning four of the past five conference titles, the Black and Orange hope to defend their third consecutive conference title from Luther.

No. 3 MIT

The Engineers won the previous six consecutive conference titles. MIT is ranked No. 3 nationally and No. 1 in the NEWMAC preseason poll.

The first official meet of the season will not be until Sept. 21, when the Engineers travel to Gorham, Maine for the USM Invitational.

Cross Country Awards: The history of the USTFCCCA’s Cross Country National Athlete of the Year

The USTFCCCA’s Cross Country National Athlete of the Year award is given to the most outstanding male and female NCAA cross country athletes. Here's what to know about cross country's highest honor.

Here are the DI cross country teams with most NCAA championships

Here are the schools with the most NCAA team championships across men's and women's cross country.

The fastest finishes in NCAA DI cross country championships history

With the help of our record books, 25 men's and women's cross country times have been documented as the fastest finishes in NCAA DI Cross Country Championships history. We've pinpointed the dates and locations that radically changed the record books for both men's and women's cross country.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners