cross-country-women-d1 flag | September 20, 2013

ACC in action

No. 1 Providence



No. 2 Florida State at Wake Forest Invitational 

No. 2 Florida State will travel to Wake Forest to get an ACC preview. From a competitive standpoint, the meet has limited value. The Seminoles will be in a field that includes ACC teams Wake Forest and Clemson, along with Davidson, Ohio University and Miami (Ohio). The greater value is getting a first look at the multi-loop 6k and 8k layouts at Beeson Park in Kernersville, N.C., where the first 15-team ACC championship meet will be contested on Nov. 1.

Florida State has taken home the ACC championship trophy each of the previous six seasons. The additions of perennial powers Notre Dame and Syracuse to the league lineup, plus the rise of No. 4 Duke on the national scene, figure to make the 2013 championship meet one of the most competitive yet. The preparation will begin on Saturday. 

Returning All-American Colleen Quigley, fellow co-captain Linden Hall and newcomer Hannah Walker, who won the Covered Bridge Open to start the season, will lead the Seminoles at the meet. 

No. 3 Oregon 



No. 4 Duke at Adidas XC Challenge

Fourth-ranked Duke will return to action Friday in the 20th running of the Adidas XC Challenge in Cary, N.C. The 5,000-meter collegiate women’s race will be run on the WakeMed Cross Country Course.

Duke, which enters the meet ranked No. 1 in the Southeast Region, will face ACC opponents for the first time this season, including NC State, which ranks third in the Southeast Region and North Carolina, which ranks fourth in the Southeast Region.

Duke’s head coach Kevin Jermyn is excited for the opportunity to compete against tough competition early in the season and feels this will benefit the team come November.

The Blue Devils return an experienced contingent from last season, including graduate student Juliet Bottorff, who enters her final cross country season for Duke. Finishing third at last year’s ACC championship meet and second at the regional meet, Bottorff will look to once again lead the Blue Devils in 2013. Junior Kelsey Lakowske also returns for the Blue Devils, with a wealth of success in championship meets, including a sixth place finish at the ACC championship and a ninth place finish at the regional championship. Junior Carolyn Baskir and graduate student Ashley Brasovan will also once again toe the line for the Blue Devils. Both Baskir and Brasovan recorded top-25 finishes at the ACC championship meet last season, and provide the Blue Devils with experience in championship competition.

No. 5 Arizona at Dave Murray Invitational 

No. 5 Arizona will host the Dave Murray Invitational on Friday. 

The meet will be held at Del Urich Golf Course and is the only meet Arizona will host for the 2013 cross country season.

Arizona will compete against Arizona State, Northern Arizona and Grand Canyon University in the Division I section.

On the women’s side, sophomore Kayla Beattie, senior Meg Bellino, junior Stephanie Bulder, junior Daylee Burr, sophomore Molly Callahan, junior Nicci Corbin, junior Clea Formaz, freshman McKenna Gaffney, senior Elvin Kibet, freshman Maria Larsson, senior Erin Menefee, junior Kate Penney, junior Hanna Peterson and senior Amanda Russell will toe the line for Arizona.          

No. 6 Georgetown



No. 7 Washington 



No. 8 Stanford 



No. 9 Cornell



No. 10 Arkansas


10 memorable NCAA DII sports moments from fall 2021

The much-awaited return to NCAA DII fall sports certainly didn't disappoint. First time champions, upsets galore and record-setting runs highlight the first half of the 2021-22 athletics year.

NCAA Division III Men's and Women's Cross Country Championships qualifiers announced

The NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Track and Field and Cross Country Committee has announced the participants for the 2021 NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championships.

2021 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Cross Country Championship qualifiers announced

The field for the 2021 DI Men's and Women's Cross Country Championship has been announced. The championship will take place Nov. 20 at Apalachee Regional Park in Tallahassee, Florida.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners