cross-country-women-d3 flag | December 7, 2014

DIII Women's Cross Country qualifiers

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Track and Field Committee announced Sunday the team and individual qualifiers for the 2014 NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championships.

In order to be eligible to participate in the championships, teams and individuals must qualify in their respective NCAA regions.

Thirty-two teams were selected to participate in each championship.  The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the eight regions, for a total of 16 teams.  Sixteen additional teams were selected at-large.

Fifty-six individuals, the first seven athletes from each region who are not a part of a qualifying team, were selected to participate in each championship. 

Wilmington College (Ohio) and the Warren County Convention and Visitor’s Bureau are co-hosting the championships, November 22, at the Golf Center at King’s Island in Mason, Ohio.  The men’s race will begin at 11 a.m. Eastern time followed by the women’s race at 12:30 p.m. Eastern time.

The following teams and individuals were selected to the championships:

Women’s Automatic Qualifying Teams    

Christopher Newport
Johns Hopkins
St. Lawrence
St. Olaf
SUNY Geneseo
Washington U. in St. Louis
Wisconsin-La Crosse

Women’s At-large Teams

Mount Union
North Central (Illinois)
St. Thomas (Minnesota)
SUNY Cortland
SUNY Oneonta
Wheaton (Illinois)
Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Women’s Individual Automatic Qualifiers

Atlantic Region

Amy Regan, Stevens Institute of Technology
Rachel Malone, College at Brockport
Catherine Knox, Rochester (New York)
Sarah Czuprynski, New York University
Lainie Smith, Hamilton
Emma Jones, Rochester Institute of Technology
Cassidy Carpenter, Vassar

Central Region

Tricia Serres, Luther
Kimber Meyer, Macalester
Abrah Masterson, Cornell College
Gabi Jenkins, Nebraska Wesleyan
Annika Halverson, Bethel (Minnesota)
Sanjuanita Martinez, Cornell College
Caitlin Fermoyle, Gustavus Adolphus

Great Lakes Region

Jessica Shaw, Albion
Kaitlyn Arnold, Alma
Sarah Fowler, Ohio Wesleyan
Kelsey Aamoth, Case Western
Dani Blum, Heidelberg
Becky Rohwer, John Carroll
Rachel House, Heidelberg

Mideast Region

Bianca Bolton, Misericordia
Elizabeth Snyder, Carnegie Mellon
Emma Doughman, Marywood
Emily Rabenold, Grove City
Marisa Brown, Allegheny
Kelsey Patrick, Lebanon Valley
Jessica Miller, York (Pennsylvania)

Midwest Region

Kathleen Thorn, Wisconsin-Stout
Emily Paull, Aurora
Lauren Dilley, Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Kyra Kimber, Monmouth (Illinois)
Ana Breit, Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Christina, Luptak Aurora
Jordan Kelch, Wisconsin-Stout

New England Region

Ashley Curran, Connecticut College
Samantha Goldsmith, Keene State
Alanna McDonough, Colby
Kathleen Ferrall, Smith
Kelsey Whitaker, Brandeis
Marina Capalbo, Babson
Krista Brown, Colby

South/Southeast Region

Natalie Young, Mary Washington
Kaylee Kubisiak, Bridgewater (Virginia)
Brittany Alexander, Rhodes
Serena Gale-Butto, Centre
Ashley El Rady, Centre
Lauren Braney, Mary Washington
Katherine Lehman, Eastern Mennonite

West Region

Maya Weigel, Pomona-Pitzer
Della Lyle, Redlands
Julissa Tobias, Whittier
Katie Alioto, UC Santa Cruz
Lauren Roberts, Redlands
Andrea Ramirez, La Verne
Rebecca Lavietes, Colorado College

In 2013, Johns Hopkins defeated Williams to win its second consecutive national championship. Johns Hopkins totaled 85 points to Williams’ 137.

Individual honors went to Chelsea Johnson of St. Scholastica who won the individual title, finishing 11 seconds ahead of St. Olaf’s Noelle Olson.

For more information regarding the championships, log on to


Amherst 13 2012 1st 1 (2007)
Calvin 25 2013 1st 2 (1998-99)
Carleton 16 2013 6th --
Chicago 10 2013 4th --
Christopher Newport First -- -- --
Claremont-M-S 17 2013 3rd --
Dickinson 16 2013 6th --
Elizabethtown 7 2013 11th --
Emory 25 2013 7th --
Hope 12 2013 4th --
Ithaca 22 2013 2nd --
Johns Hopkins 8 2013 1st 2 (2012-13)
Middlebury 20 2013 1st 6 (2000-01, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2010)
MIT 7 2013 3rd --
Mount Union 3 2003 20th --
North Central (Ill.) 3 2011 13th --
Oberlin 7 2013 8th --
St. Lawrence 9 2013 2nd --
St. Olaf 22 2013 4th --
St. Thomas (Minn.) 20 2008 1st 4 (1982, 1984, 1986-87)
SUNY Cortland 22 2010 1st 7 (1989-90, 1992-95, 1997)
SUNY Geneseo 21 2013 1st 1 (2005)
SUNY Oneonta 2 2013 25th --
Tufts 6 2013 5th --
Wartburg 18 2013 2nd --
Washington (Mo.) 13 2013 1st 1 (2011)
Wellesley 3 1986 7th --
Wheaton (Ill.) 3 2008 13th --
Willamette 11 2013 8th --
Williams 23 2013 1st 2 (2002, 2004)
Wisconsin-Eau Claire 12 2012 1st 1 (2009)
Wisconsin-La Crosse 29 2013 1st 1 (1983)
* -- Includes 2014.