cross-country-women-d2 flag

Grand Valley State Athletics | November 19, 2016

DII: Grand Valley State captures fifth national title

  Grand Valley State won its fourth national championship in the past five years.

SAINT LEO, Fla. -- The Grand Valley State women's cross country team fell just short of a fourth straight national title last season in placing second at the NCAA Championships, but the Lakers were able to claim the program's fifth national championship in 2016, defeating Adams State by a margin of 23 points. The Lakers had four runners claim All-American honors and an individual champion. 

RELATED: DII results | Championship reactions

Senior Kendra Foley won her second national championship in three years and claimed All-America honors for the fourth straight year by posting a time of 20:01.8 and defeating last year's champion Alexis Zeis from the University of Mary by a margin of 24.6 seconds. Foley fell short of a national championship in 2015's race by just .3 seconds. Foley scored just 12 points in her four races in NCAA National Championship events placing 11th in her freshman year(scoring eight points), first in her sophomore year, second in her junior year, and first in her final year.

GLIAC Freshman of the Year Stacey Metzger put up the second best time for the Lakers, placing 15th in her first national championship race. Metzger posted a time of 20:57.8 and claimed All-America honors. 

USTFCCCA All-Region honoree Kelly Haubert placed 35th with a time of 21:22.2, securing All-American honors, while senior Amy Creutz finished in 40th place with All-American honors in 21:30.3. 

Junior Rachel Bendewald was the final scoring runner for the Lakers, finishing in 57th place with a time of 21:51.6. Freshman Jessica Gockley, and senior Alison Work also ran for the Lakers in the national championship race placing in 71st and 104th with times of 22:00.4 and 22:23.5, respectively. 

The top-10 in the women's team results following the Lakers in first were Adams State (2nd, 139 points), Western State (3rd, 168 points), Chico State (4th, 189 points), Southern Indiana (5th, 209 points), Simon Fraser (6th, 210 points), U-Mary (7th, 217 points), Alaska Anchorage (8th, 259 points), Cal-Baptist (9th, 274 point), and Minnesota Duluth (10th, 284 points).

The USTFCCCA will be announcing the national award recipients this week and all honors will be posted on when they become available.


​​​​​​​Grand Valley State’s Lipovsky named 2019 Schutt Sports/NFCA Division II National Pitcher of the Year

Grand Valley State senior Allison Lipovsky was named the 2019 Schutt Sports / NFCA Division II National Pitcher of the Year, the Association announced on Thursday morning. Voted on by the NFCA's Division II All-American Committee, Lipovsky was an unanimous selection.

1 fun fact about each of the final eight teams in the 2019 DII softball championship

The 2019 DII softball championship heads to Denver. Here's a quick look at each of the eight teams in the finals of the NCAA DII tournament.

Keep an eye on these 7 DII softball freshmen this postseason

Here’s a look a seven freshmen who hope to continue their big seasons all the way to Denver for the 2019 DII softball championship.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners