fencing-nc flag

Harvard Athletics | February 14, 2014

Harvard hoists Beanpot

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- For the seventh time in its existence in as many years, the Beanpot title went to the No. 6 Harvard men, who defeated local rivals Boston College, MIT and Brandeis at duPont Gymnasium Wednesday night.

Harvard (12-6, 4-1 Ivy) cruised past Boston College 26-1 followed by a 20-7 win against the host MIT. The Crimson glided to the title with a 17-10 victory against Brandeis.

Harvard was anchored by its foil squad, which went 24-3 with a handful of fencers going unbeaten including freshman Stephen Mageras (6-0) and junior Brian Kaneshige who went 6-0, each and sophomore Michael Woo who posted a 3-0 record against the Eagles. Senior Eric Arozian and sophomore Duncan O'Brien went 8-1, respectively, on the day to lead a sabre squad that went unbeaten in three duals with a 22-5 mark. Despite falling to the Engineers and Judges 5-4 the epee division received an 7-2 performance from sophomore Nicolas Simko.

Since its inception seven years ago, the women's fencing Beanpot has only seen one victor and the 2014 battle for the title of the best of Beantown was no different as the No. 3 Harvard women's fencing team downed Boston College, MIT and Brandeis Wednesday night at duPont Gymnasium to capture the crown again.

The Crimson (16-4, 5-1 Ivy) downed Boston College 24-3 bested Cambridge neighbor MIT 20-7 and earned a 22-5 victory against Brandeis to hoist its seventh Beanpot trophy in as many years.

Led by the foil squad's nearly perfect 26-1 performance, Harvard swept the three-school field in each weapon for the seventh consecutive year. Senior Alexandra Kiefer and freshman Hali Nelson went unbeaten 9-0 while rookie Liana Yamin only dropped a single bout to boast an 8-1 mark. The sabre's team 22-5 showing was propelled by senior Elena Helgiu who posted a 7-2 record. Junior Emma Vaggo went undefeated on the strip 5-0 to pace the Crimson's epeeist's 18-9 effort.

The longest overtime games in FCS college football history

The longest games in FCS history feature many multiple-overtime classics, including Princeton's 2021 win over Harvard in five overtimes.

These are the 10 oldest stadiums in Division I college football

College football has been around since 1869, meaning some stadiums are celebrating triple-digit birthdays. Here's a look at the 10 oldest stadiums in the sport's history.

Harvard takes down BC 5-4 in thriller to win 2022 women's Beanpot

Harvard won its 15th Beanpot with its 5-4 win over BC on Tuesday night.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners