Championship Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Field Hockey Committee has announced the field of 24 teams for that will compete in the 2005 NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship.

Sixteen teams will compete in eight, first-round games Wednesday, November 9. The eight first-round winners, along with the remaining eight teams will compete at four campus sites during second/third-round play, either Friday and Saturday, November 11 and 12, or Saturday and Sunday, November 12 and 13.

Winners of the four sites will advance to the semifinals and finals Friday and Saturday, November 18 and 19.

The semifinals and finals will be played at Liberty Hall Field on the campus of Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia. Semifinals will be played at 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. on Friday, November 18, with the championship game being played Saturday, November 19, at 1 p.m. Ticket information is available by calling 540/458-8684.

Thirteen conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for their champions into the 2005 championship. Three teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. Finally, eight berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not their conference champions and the remaining teams from Pool B.

The 13 conferences and schools receiving automatic qualification are:
Centennial Conference-Ursinus
Commonwealth Conference-Messiah
Commonwealth Coast Conference-New England College
Freedom Conference-Manhattanville
Liberty League-William Smith
Little East Conference-Keene State
New England Small College Athletic Conference-Bowdoin
New England Womens and Mens Athletics Conference-Springfield
New Jersey Athletic Conference-Rowan
North Atlantic Conference-Western New England
North Coast Athletic Conference-Oberlin
Old Dominion Athletic Conference -Washington and Lee
Pennsylvania Athletic Conference-Alvernia

Last years final game at Westfield State College in Westfield, Massachusetts was a repeat of the 2003 final. Salisbury again met up with Middlebury to decide the 2004 championship. When it was all said and done, Salisbury won its third Division III field hockey championship (1986, 2003, 2004) with a 6-3 victory over Middlebury. Megan Powell paced the Sea Gulls with two goals in the second half. The nine goals scored in the game set a new finals record, one of three records set by Salisbury throughout the tournament. Other records include goals scored in a tournament (19) and individual assists in a single tournament game (4) set by Melissa Webster in an 8-0 victory against Drew. Both Salisbury and Middlebury will make an appearance in the 2005 tournament. Other previous champions in this years championship include Cortland State (1993, 1994, 2001), Middlebury (1998), Rowan (2002), The College of New Jersey (1981, 1983, 1985, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1995, 1996, 1999) and William Smith (1992, 1997, 2000).

Alvernia, Babson, Manhattanville, Oberlin, Utica, Washington and Lee and Western New England are making their first appearances in the NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship.

The College of New Jersey has yet to miss an NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship. The Lions are appearing in their 25th consecutive championship (1981-2005). Other schools with streaks of five or more consecutive championship appearances include Salisbury (12, 1994-2005), Cortland State (7, 1999-2005), Williams (6, 2000-2005) and Messiah (5, 2001-2005).

-- Courtesy