Nov. 10, 2009

Brackets: Interactive | Printable


The NCAA Division I Field Hockey Committee announced today the field of 16 teams for the 2009 NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship.  Five conferences were awarded automatic qualification. In addition, six conferences competed for three play-in berths and the remaining eight teams were selected at large.

The following conferences and their representatives received automatic qualification:

Atlantic Coast Conference            University of Maryland, College Park    
Big East Conference                    University of Connecticut
Big Ten Conference                     Michigan State University
Colonial Athletic Association         University of Delaware
Ivy Group                                  Princeton University

The teams winning the play-in berths were American University from the Patriot League, the University of Richmond from the Atlantic 10 Conference and Stanford University from the Northern Pacific Field Hockey Conference.

The bracket above lists the eight at-large teams, as well as the pairings, sites and dates.   

The first- and second-round games will be played on four campus sites November 14 and 15. Wake Forest University will host the semifinals and final, November 20 and 22 at Kentner Stadium in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. For ticket information, please call 888/758-3322.

In 2008, Maryland claimed its sixth NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship title with a 4-2 victory over Wake Forest at Trager Stadium in Louisville, Kentucky.